Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10

    Telephone number not compatible

    This is a discussion on Telephone number not compatible within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; We have cancelled our virgin media and ordered sky fibre, the phone line has been installed and we're now being ...

    1. #1
      Needhelpsky's Avatar
      Needhelpsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Telephone number not compatible

      We have cancelled our virgin media and ordered sky fibre, the phone line has been installed and we're now being told our phone number isn't compatible.

      Has anyone else come across this problem, if we had known we could have had a new number.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      Many other providers are unable to transfer VM numbers to a BT type line.

      Last Christmas I helped someone move from VM to PlusNet. We were given the same story.

      In some cases the numbers can be moved across, but not always. You may wish to check with Ofcom to see what they suggest.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    4. #3
      Needhelpsky's Avatar
      Needhelpsky is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      We were told this could be rectified June/July but we've cancelled our virgin line so we would have to either be without Internet and wait for sky, use adsl which they can only guarantee us 2 mb or sign back into a 12 month agreement with Virgin.

      Not very happy considering they've already switched us to bt, we did say that we didn't mind having a new number right at the start of the whole process so this could have been avoided.

    5. #4
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      Sorry, I just realised that I've misread your first post. So you have kept your old VM number. Doh!

      Someone else mentioned on this forum the other week that currently they couldn't move to SFU with their VM number, but that it would resolve by June/July as you've mentioned.

      Once you do mange to get SFU you should find things move along a lot better.

      There are a lot of systems and cross-agreements that Sky needs to get resolved to work with their new Fibre based products. You'll forgive me but it is really really silly that these issues were not correctly addressed months ago.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      I think the lesson is that anyone moving from Virgin to Sky Fibre should get a new number. there are several who were on Sky Unlimited after moving their number from Virgin and have now been told that the number is incompatible with Sky Fibre

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      Aye Up's Avatar
      Aye Up is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Trafford, Manchester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      Its interesting this, I moved my number from VM to sky with no issues, all went live the same day and I had Sky Fibre installed. They disconnected all my services as well with VM.

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      Quote Originally Posted by Aye Up View Post
      Its interesting this, I moved my number from VM to sky with no issues, all went live the same day and I had Sky Fibre installed. They disconnected all my services as well with VM.
      Did you have the telephone number before VM? If so, who was it with?

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      Aye Up's Avatar
      Aye Up is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Sale
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Trafford, Manchester
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Did you have the telephone number before VM? If so, who was it with?
      Number was originally with VM, they transferred with little issues. I did have a number with VM that was attached to the property when I moved in, however due to dodgy calls they provided me with my current number 12 months ago which as since moved to sky.

    10. #9
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      You can't migrate a virgin number if the virgin line has been or is in the process of being ceased.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Telephone number not compatible

      Quote Originally Posted by buddbuttocks View Post
      You can't migrate a virgin number if the virgin line has been or is in the process of being ceased.
      That hasn't been the issue.

      In the past people have been able to take their VM number to Sky LLU services for ADSL broadband.

      What members have reported is issues over moving to FTTC services with a number that was originally issued by VM or other cable companies.

      Based on the information received, there is to be an agreement made which is scheduled for completion within the next couple of months. However this is subject to a variety of issues and could change.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION