Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345
    Results 41 to 50 of 50
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Isitme That is what I have suggested previously, but it does not explain why they are using ...

    1. #41
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      That is what I have suggested previously, but it does not explain why they are using a move to fibre as an excuse.
      Agreed.

      It seems to me that the wrong "element" of the whole piece (i.e. move to fibre) is being used as the reason for the incompatibility.

      It's probably the move of the phone service to SVBN that's the true reason. When the OP was on the ADSL broadband service, maybe the phone service was still on BT WLR and hence there was no incompatibility with the alarm system? My line was like this before I upgraded to SFU (voice on BT WLR despite paying line rental and call charges to Sky) but voice was switched to SVBN as part of the upgrade.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      There are probably many on SVBN who have monitored alarms and do not realise they are not classed as compatible. The need for the user to determine this is hidden away in the T & Cs, which hardly any read.

      I wonder what would happen if someone has a break-in and the alarm fails?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #43
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      Yes, it seems to be a case of being caught between a rock and a hard place - unfortunate for the OP in terms of the downgraded broadband service but (perhaps) fortunate in terms of (maybe) avoiding a potential loss in the (probably unlikely) event of the alarm failing to detect an event.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    5. #44
      chingf0rd's Avatar
      chingf0rd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      Update: Unfortunately, back on ADSL....

      ...for now!

      I now have 3 Sky Routers! Ridiculous.

    6. #45
      chingf0rd's Avatar
      chingf0rd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      Just another update!

      So I saw that another ADT customer had Sky Fibre installed without a problem (here) - so I sent Sky an email asking when I could have it back...

      Today, Sky called up and said that "they have to get BT Openreach to check my telephone line again and then it can be installed" because according to this Sky person, it was because BTO saw that "ADT had originally, not connected up the line correctly" and not because BTO forgot to re-connect the alarm line and not because Sky's cabinet has different equipment and not because of line pulsing on the analogue line etc etc etc. I don't know what the explanation is any more...but they're going to give it another go!

    7. #46
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      Good luck!

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #47
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      because BTO saw that "ADT had originally, not connected up the line correctly"
      It is likely the alarm was connected direct to the AB terminals. I think some alarm installers do this so that the alarm is not effected when the faceplate is removed. But it means what you were told originally about it not being compatible with Fibre was a fob off and you have been put to a lot of inconvenience for nothing. I would have thought the BT engineer would have replaced the wires correctly instead of just leaving them disconnected.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    9. #48
      chingf0rd's Avatar
      chingf0rd is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bromley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      39
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      This morning I was on...



      Now I'm back!



      So Sky finally acknowledged that my ADT alarm and Sky Fibre works ok. Not sure why my IP address is reported to be in Carlisle rather than London though...

    10. #49
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      That is good news.

      Hopefully you will also find that the upload speed is increased tonight in line the new 40/10 Sky product.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    11. #50
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Fibre Broadband and ADT monitored burglar alarm incompatible?

      Common sense prevails at last.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     
    Page 5 of 5 FirstFirst ... 345

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION