Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 10 of 10
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By andrewjr

    1, 2, 3.

    This is a discussion on 1, 2, 3. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Whats the best setting in the router options? 1, Auto 2, ADSL or 3,WANoE i'm fully confused.. whats best one ...

    1. #1
      sky_use's Avatar
      sky_use is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      1, 2, 3.

      Whats the best setting in the router options? 1, Auto 2, ADSL or 3,WANoE i'm fully confused.. whats best one to use.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: Sky fibre 1
      Router: Sky sr203
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,236
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      what you using the 2504n or something different ive never know those settings or are you meaning to do with the wifi

    4. #3
      sky_use's Avatar
      sky_use is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      8
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      Manufacturer Sagemcom
      Model Number F@ST2504n and I'm cabled. i have 3 new options with my new fibre Router
      Firmware Version 5.27.1a4N

    5. #4
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      either auto or WANoE

      Auto, as it says will look for an adsl connection and a WANoE connection then set the correct one (which will be WANoE as this is what router uses to connect to the modem, this takes slightly longer to connect to the modem).

      WANoE will connect to the modem quicker, this is what I have mine set on.
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    6. #5
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      If you have Fibre, WANoE is the only setting you should use

    7. #6
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      what is the guarantee that once WANoE is selected that all my ethernet connections will still work? or does this setting only disable the dsl port?

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      what is the guarantee that once WANoE is selected that all my ethernet connections will still work? or does this setting only disable the dsl port?
      By selecting 'WANoE' the router will not bother checking for a signal on the ADSL port. since you have SFU, this is fine.

      Some members have reported that this improves the connection time of the router when you reboot it.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      so it does not turn any of the other lan ports/ethernet ports off on the sky router? just turns off adsl check.

    10. #9
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      Why would it turn off any other ports, the fiber router is designed for use either on ADSL through the ADSL port or on VDSL through the Lan 1 port, this option just tells the router which connection method you are using (WanOE or ADSL) or checks for either connection in auto mode, it has nothing to do with any other ports.

    11. #10
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: 1, 2, 3.

      thort it would turn them off, nevermind, i have been corrected. WANoE only it is then...

     

     

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION