Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 23
    Like Tree2Likes

    Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

    This is a discussion on Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks go to sfitzp4573 for this information: billion.uk.com...

    1. #1
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Thanks go to sfitzp4573 for this information:

      billion.uk.com

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to BritBrat For This Useful Post:

      Angel_Rex (22-05-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #2
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      I would be more interested in this if it works after the IP address changes. I have got my own router working with SKY Fibre for a week. Was fine until the IP address changed. Has it been confirmed that this firmware works with a change in IP address at SKY's end?

    5. #3
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by web_wizard View Post
      I would be more interested in this if it works after the IP address changes. I have got my own router working with SKY Fibre for a week. Was fine until the IP address changed. Has it been confirmed that this firmware works with a change in IP address at SKY's end?
      It's not a change of IP at Sky's end, it's the IP address lease that expires after 30 mins and if the router hasn't optained it's IP address from Sky's DHCP it doesn't renew the lease and disconnects.

      This is an extract from my Sky router's syslog which shows the request to renew the lease every 30 mins:

      24/05/2012 12:18:02 Sending renew...
      24/05/2012 12:18:02 Lease of xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx(aaaaaaaa) obtained, lease time 3600
      24/05/2012 12:18:55 rupgrade:error:328.216:ruReadMessageFromSmd:43:got WAN_CONNECTION_UP msg
      24/05/2012 12:33:37 -- MARK --
      24/05/2012 12:48:02 Sending renew...
      24/05/2012 12:48:02 Lease of xxx.xxx.xxx.xxx(aaaaaaaa) obtained, lease time 3600



      Anyway digression aside, according to the thread linked, it appears to work perfectly on fibre. It definitely works on Sky's ADSL service because I've tried it.

      I'm waiting for them to start work on the firmware for their 8200N VDSL router.

    6. #4
      BritBrat's Avatar
      BritBrat is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Posts
      233
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by web_wizard View Post
      I would be more interested in this if it works after the IP address changes. I have got my own router working with SKY Fibre for a week. Was fine until the IP address changed. Has it been confirmed that this firmware works with a change in IP address at SKY's end?
      It works.

    7. #5
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      I have bought the billion so will see what happens. hopefully get it tomorrow.

    8. #6
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      It does indeed work. I have noticed a big difference in stability of speed and ping rate as well. However, the instructions in the guide that has been written did not work for me and they are inaccurate. If the mods would allow me to, I have put together a much quicker and simple guide in order for it to work properly. I don't know how to add it to the forum but if they want it, they can have it
      W2S likes this.

    9. #7
      W2S's Avatar
      W2S
      W2S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Hi guy's

      What's the wireless speed and range like? in two minds to get the 7800N

      web wizard where did you get your 7800N from and how much?

      Thanks

    10. #8
      sfitzp4573's Avatar
      sfitzp4573 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      web_wizard, what's wrong with my notes? I apologise if it was misleading/incorrect. Possibly I got carried away in my excitement, having managed to make things work! :-) I'd appreciate you telling us how your experience was different - I'm only curious, but it might help others too. I've now had my Billion for about 10 days, and it's been absolutely rock solid. A perfect bit of kit.
      I'm happy for anyone to share/hack around my notes though and glad that they seem to work for some people.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to sfitzp4573 For This Useful Post:

      web_wizard (04-06-12)

    12. #9
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by sfitzp4573 View Post
      web_wizard, what's wrong with my notes? I apologise if it was misleading/incorrect. Possibly I got carried away in my excitement, having managed to make things work! :-) I'd appreciate you telling us how your experience was different - I'm only curious, but it might help others too. I've now had my Billion for about 10 days, and it's been absolutely rock solid. A perfect bit of kit.
      I'm happy for anyone to share/hack around my notes though and glad that they seem to work for some people.
      Most of your notes were fine SFITZP the only problem I had was the firmware section of your tutorial. When I upgraded my router to the same firmware version of yours it would not work properly as there was no option to input the sky user credentials on that firmware version. You show the firmware on one of your screen shots and it differs slightly to that of the firmware that works seamlessly on the router. It is only a minute difference in firmware versions but it makes a big difference to the tutorial as when you carry on with adding the username in etc, this doesn't work as the option is not there.

      I do think that the Billion is an awesome router. I have absolutely hammered mine and its transfer rates over wireless and distance are impressive and over wired it easily gives the gigabit connection. It never gets hot either which is impressive.

    13. #10
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by W2S View Post
      Hi guy's


      What's the wireless speed and range like? in two minds to get the 7800N

      web wizard where did you get your 7800N from and how much?

      Thanks
      I got mine from DABS.COM

      Its an excellent piece of kit in my opinion

     

     
    Page 1 of 3 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION