Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23
    Like Tree2Likes

    Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

    This is a discussion on Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; @web_wizard You're welcome. Yes, you are probably correct re the firmware info. My notes were really a list of my ...

    1. #11
      sfitzp4573's Avatar
      sfitzp4573 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      @web_wizard

      You're welcome. Yes, you are probably correct re the firmware info. My notes were really a list of my experiences trying configure the Billion and to make the thing work correctly. I should have made it more explicit that it wasn't a hard-and-fast tutorial that was guaranteed to work for everyone. Still, seems that all's well that ends well :-) I got mine from broadbandbuyer.co.uk - I ordered it 1 day, and it turned up the next! Excellent service.

      interesting re your comment about heat. I leave mine on permanently, and it's downloading most of the time. It seems to be warm rather than hot, although it is slightly warmer than the Draytek 2830VN which preceded the Billion. Doesn't give me any cause for concern, it's just something that I noticed.

      And now, basking in the warmth of your 2 or 3 previous comments, I'm going to have a beer :-)
      thanks.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      sfitzp4573's Avatar
      sfitzp4573 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      ... and whilst I'm in a genial mood, although the notes are my own work, I was really "standing on the shoulders of giants". It's the folks over at Billion UK Forum • Index page that really pointed me in the right direction. They definately know their stuff!
      web_wizard likes this.

    4. #13
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      I gathered that sfitzp4573 and I wasn't having a go, infact your guide got me there or there abouts which as you say was the goal of it. I just thought that the less tech savy amongst us would probably get confused at that point and offered to help should anyone need it.

      I agree about the Billion forum and thats a good shout.

      Mine maybe operating cooler as I have wall mounted my unit. I have found that this makes them run alot cooler and mine barely even gets warm.

    5. #14
      David76's Avatar
      David76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      has their been any issues using this router with sky fibre, seriously thinking about investing in one.

      also in the dynamic dns options... is zoneedit in the list?

      cheers

    6. #15
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by David76 View Post
      has their been any issues using this router with sky fibre, seriously thinking about investing in one.

      also in the dynamic dns options... is zoneedit in the list?

      cheers
      Zoneedit is in the list on the 8200N so I would assume it's also in the 7800N.

    7. #16
      sfitzp4573's Avatar
      sfitzp4573 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Quote Originally Posted by simon194 View Post
      Zoneedit is in the list on the 8200N so I would assume it's also in the 7800N.
      It's in my 7800N as dynamic.zoneedit.com ,and I haven't had any issues using this router with Sky Fibre. The Billion's support forum Billion UK Forum • Index page is a good place to go, aswell as this one, if you have questions. Both forums helped me out very nicely.

    8. #17
      shoei600's Avatar
      shoei600 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Web Wizard, sfitzp4573,

      Firstly many thanks to sfitzp4573 and Billion for making this possible, I have used the instructions on the Billion forum and cannot get connected. I have checked several times the Client ID, reloaded the firmware which is 1.06g and been through the setup a few times now. I do not have a second field to put Client ID in to under the EWAN setup, only the ADSL and it does carry across from quick setup to advanced.

      Having completed a Cisco CCNA I'm not a complete novice with networks but cannot seem to find this elusive place to put another Client ID entry.

      Just to add to the problem, I'm also unable to register on the Billion forum to get any help.

      Thanks.

    9. #18
      W2S's Avatar
      W2S
      W2S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Hi shoei600


      You need to use 1.06g-dc1 Fibre firmware as 1.06g is for sky asdl that's why you have no client id on ewan

      Link below you need to be logged in to download the firmware

      hope that helps


      Billion UK Forum • View topic - 7800N Sky FTTC test firmware now working (UPDATED 16/5)

    10. #19
      shoei600's Avatar
      shoei600 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Notes - Setup Billion BiPAC 7800N Sky Fibre

      Hi W2s,

      Thanks for confirming that, it has been a little unclear especially as later posts in the same thread say they have it working on the version I have.

      The problem I have is that I cannot seems to register in the Billion forum. It doesnt matter how complex I make the user/pass and I have tried at least three different usernames,emails addresses and password and each time the page returns telling me I have an error in one of the fields. I have also tried both Mac and PC browsers with safari, IE and Firefox just to make sure.

      The FAQ's say that if I can't register, contact the forum admin or moderators, doesnt provide any contact details at all so this is not likely unless I was registered.

      I hope this is not a sign of what to expect from billion.

      If somebody could PM me perhaps we can file transfer the firmware, I really keen to get this resolved urgently and I suspect the Billion registration is going to take sometime.

      Thanks again.

    11. #20
      batfin's Avatar
      batfin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      Quote Originally Posted by shoei600 View Post

      If somebody could PM me perhaps we can file transfer the firmware
      I've sent you a pm there with a download link in it that should work

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION