Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 41
    Like Tree6Likes

    Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

    This is a discussion on Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer! within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; hi all, Yay! BTO engineer came at around 8:30am - 9:00pm, this morning...had my front door wide open at around ...

    1. #1
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      hi all,

      Yay! BTO engineer came at around 8:30am - 9:00pm, this morning...had my front door wide open at around 7:15am, left it open....i could hear a car/van door being closed, looked looked outside, BTO engineer came round the corner...

      BTO Engineer(John): "Hi, Broadband installation??..."

      Me: "Yep..."

      me: "You know this is a sky fibre installation?"

      BTO Engineer(John): "Yes"

      I started babbling on about sky broadband technical stuff, he didnt even know about "You know more than me..." he said

      I mentioned about this website, its an unofficial website that sky customers chat to each other in a forum...he knew nothing of it, I think he was more of a BT engineer, as he spoke about BT increasing speeds from 40mb to 80mb, I dont think he had much trust in sky...he was very friendly, young BTO engineer, I think in his 20s...

      BTO Engineer(John): "Where is your Sky router...?"

      Me: "Down here, in the cupboard..."

      BTO Engineer(John): "Oh, thats how your router is connected..."

      The 5m ethernet cable that i bought ages ago, that was from the micorfilter to the sky router line, was pulled out and used in the new openreach modem, later on...

      I spoke about changing the firmware...and finding out the maximum rate...he said "sure...go ahead and try hacking it...it will cost you 200 for a new openreach modem" "ouch" I said

      BTO engineer ran all his tests...told me my line was capable of 80/100mb, when sky do decide to do their 80/20 rollout, told BTO engineer sky are actually doing 80/20, but only to new sky bb customers "That is cheeky...", I then said I read that it is until july/august...we will be able to get it(wasn't it June?).

      fitted everything in...openreach sits right next to my new sky router now...using my 5m ethernet cable... no extra ethernet cables needed...would of liked another 3-5m ethernet cable for sky anytime+ setup....sigh...have to get my own now... nevermind...

      after everything was fitted in & working.. modem light flashed, then stopped solid...conected up modem to router...all lights on sky router working..."ok try running a website test"...engineer said.

      lol...I chose speedtest.net...

      BTO engineer(John): " I really wanna see this..."

      I think he was getting excited a bit....

      17ms....37.80 dl 1.7up

      BTO engineer(John): "Now you should test it on wireless....but that is where I am not going to see this...as i am now going...so bye"

      i then told him that my father is an ex-BT guy, "When did he leave BT?" "back in 1994..." "So, he is old-school...way before my time(laughing)" he said... he then said bye... he was very polite...

      after he left i tested my laptop...

      ran a speedtestnet thing on it...

      33ms...36.8dl...1.49up

      ran a few games...DOD:s, Garrysmod, and ran another game for giggles

      1st game had a ping of about 117, server was in USA, 130 - 200 ping before on eired(ethernet)...same server in USA... on my laptop, using wireless...98-100 ping, before it was 110 - 120 ping on wireless...oh....3rd game was called sauerbraten...and I was getting between 35-60 ping/latency, this was on pc ethernet too...

      strange...
      Last edited by jdsimp1234; 14-05-12 at 12:02 PM.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      terryg55's Avatar
      terryg55 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ealing
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      London
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      My BT (very nice) installer gave me 'spare' modem.......I wonder if Sky will sell me a spare router?

    4. #3
      wakey's Avatar
      wakey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: HASLINGTON
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: TP-Link TP-1043ND
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2009
      Posts
      38
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      Was surprised but my engineer also turned up after the previous screw up


    5. #4
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      Well thank god for that.

    6. #5
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      OT: how do you add the speedtest thing to your signature?

    7. #6
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      OT: how do you add the speedtest thing to your signature?
      At the top of you screen, click 'Settings', then scroll down and select 'Edit Signature'. Copy & Paste the link from the site for the image using the 'Forum' link. If not the forum link, then use the 'Insert Image' link to add the result.

      Do preview your signature to ensure that it looks fine.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. #7
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      testing...

      yay!

    9. #8
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      OT: I have tryed following the instruction to unlock the echolife HG612 modem I had, and it doesnt seem to work...any ideas anyone?

      apparently:

      power down modem, connect pc ethernet to lan2 on modem, hold down reset button....says about keeping it down..then power up modem keeping the reset button pressed down for 5 secs....then browse to 192.168.1.1...

      are these instructions correct, are those instructions missing something? or am I missing something? any thoughts?

    10. #9
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      Did you give the NIC the static IP noted in the PDF?
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Yay! I am a new sky fibre bb customer!

      I don't have a SFU or any other FTTC connection myself, but did chat with someone a little while ago.

      We managed to get through the instructions first time and he successfully updated the firmware.

      Could you check that you have the latest version (v3) of the HG612 and the firmware for it too.

      Otherwise the instructions are fine.

      In summary:
      • download standard firmware
      • change IP settings on laptop to 192.168.1.10
      • connect directly to Modem port #2
      • press the reset button as prescribed
      • open your browser and access the Modem's GUI
      • change the firmware to the standard firmware

      Hey Presto!

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 5 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION