Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 38 of 38
    Like Tree5Likes

    line reset?

    This is a discussion on line reset? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Scubbie Before everyone gets into an argument over bits and bytes, this issue needs to be pushed ...

    1. #31
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Before everyone gets into an argument over bits and bytes, this issue needs to be pushed higher up within Sky.

      As much as I can provide useful advice, this will need to come from those affected.

      Personally I would push to speak with the people within CST (the old tier 2 & 3 teams). If that gets ignored or doesn't get a suitable answer, consider taking it to the Executive Team.

      The issue has been going on longer than 10 days so I think it is safe to say that if anyone tells you to wait for the initial 10 day period to complete you can politely advise them that DLM will not resolve the issue.
      I am not sure if I was being capped or not, my throughput was always pretty good, I normally test using TBB DL large file tool, winxp sp3 dl, sky user speed tester and speedtest.net.

      My speed is now DL at 4.5-4.7 MB/s so my only small gripe now is that I want my ping of 9ms back (although this is completely anal) instead of 18ms.

      LOL.

      Anyway needless to say unless anything major happens I won't bother wasting my time or sky's to get the line profile reset. I'll wait until they give everyone the free re-grade to 40/10 as I guess this will re-profile the line and hopefully ping

      <3 cheers all.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      PS. I wasn't knocking you KN, useful info is always useful

    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      My speed is now DL at 4.5-4.7 MB/s so my only small gripe now is that I want my ping of 9ms back (although this is completely anal) instead of 18ms...
      This indicates that you are not currently having you speed capped.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: line reset?

      One user on this forum does seem to have had banding/profile capping on his connection as he was reporting 2.3Mbps throughput before finally managing to get the RDSLAM profile reset and then seeing higher throughput, so it is a potential issue for the SFU user to be aware of.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    6. #35
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      I am not sure if I was being capped or not, my throughput was always pretty good, I normally test using TBB DL large file tool, winxp sp3 dl, sky user speed tester and speedtest.net.

      My speed is now DL at 4.5-4.7 MB/s so my only small gripe now is that I want my ping of 9ms back (although this is completely anal) instead of 18ms.

      LOL.

      Anyway needless to say unless anything major happens I won't bother wasting my time or sky's to get the line profile reset. I'll wait until they give everyone the free re-grade to 40/10 as I guess this will re-profile the line and hopefully ping

      <3 cheers all.
      are you judging your ping based on speedtest.net and ping test.net results? I find that these site do not give an accurate representation of your ping times.

      Try using a command prompt and ping various places i.e bbc.co.uk, google.com,
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    7. #36
      nijohc's Avatar
      nijohc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Halifax
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      are you judging your ping based on speedtest.net and ping test.net results? I find that these site do not give an accurate representation of your ping times.

      Try using a command prompt and ping various places i.e bbc.co.uk, google.com,
      Indeed, on speedtest.net I've gotten as low as 9ms though in reality I have never, ever, seen lower than 15ms even when pinging the first external hop which pretty much makes speedtest.net's results skewed and irrelevant.

    8. #37
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Yes that is ping to BBC via command prompt.

      As I said its awfully anal and I will ever notice the difference but it was stable at 39997 and 9ms ping.

      The fault on the line kicked in interleaving and dropped the sync to 34mb. Which is why I thought I was capped becabecause of the fault.

      Now my sync still isn't 39997 but its better. This is obviously since the fault has been fixed. But doesn't quite warrant calling sky.

    9. #38
      kn100's Avatar
      kn100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Bridgend, South Wales
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Glad to hear it. On another note anyone heard anything about that regrade? I'd swap 10mbit/s of this download for 10mbit/s upload
      Angel_Rex likes this.

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION