Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 38
    Like Tree5Likes

    line reset?

    This is a discussion on line reset? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Paul: 1. I assumed that the speedtest badge in his post (showing 37.93 down and dated 3/3/2012) was prior to ...

    1. #11
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: line reset?

      Paul:

      1. I assumed that the speedtest badge in his post (showing 37.93 down and dated 3/3/2012) was prior to his line fault.
      2. I also assumed that his download speed is currently much lower due now to capped profile/banding by the DLM in the cabinet imposed by the line fault.
      3. I also assumed that he is now trying to get his download speed improved by getting the capped profile/banding removed.

      Maybe I have just read the OPs situation/problem differently to you.

      Sorry for any confusion that I may have caused to you, the OP or anyone else.

      Just trying to help with my observations but I'll shut up now...
      Angel_Rex likes this.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Hi sorry guys been out!

      To clarify, my Sig was taken when I first got fibre.

      After a few days interleaving was turned on and doubled ping

      Then with the fault in the line caused the sync to lower between 33mb& 36mb.

      Now I have the fault fixed I just wanted interleaving turned off and to sync back up at 39999.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Angel_Rex For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (13-05-12)

    5. #13
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: line reset?

      Thanks for clarifying that.

      I had thought that maybe your sync had dropped more drastically than you have said in your latest post.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    6. #14
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Tbh sync speed is still acceptable and its not dropped below 33mb, however I was solid on 39997 for a few weeks, when I had the fault, a quick reset would get it back up to 38-39. This doesn't happen now.

      Hopefully time will make it see no fault and sort it out.

    7. #15
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Hey no need for anybody to shut mun this is a happy forum, and as stated it takes very little to confuse my old head this days.
      Ok OP so your D/L speed is around 33Mb, to be honest you with have little chance of getting an Eng out to reset your profile as you are way over the min of 12Mb, hopefully with your line fault fixed DLM will pick up that the errors on your line have gone and pick up your speed but if not pass on how to get it rest.
      idchyd da

    8. #16
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Good luck doing this, its a nightmare to organise. BTO are the only people that can do this and even then, convincing them is a bit of a joke. If you are lucky enough to get an engineer out to your house, ask him to lie to his call centre and say the throughput is less than 14mb now due to the fault. Fault is fixed and you believe the profile needs resetting to get speed back.

    9. #17
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      just checked the XP SP3 update and I'm only getting 2.3Mb/s as well, so you may need to find something else to download to check your connection against
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    10. #18
      nijohc's Avatar
      nijohc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Halifax
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      I tried the SP3 download and got around 3.8 - 4.1 MB/s

    11. #19
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      just checked the XP SP3 update and I'm only getting 2.3Mb/s as well, so you may need to find something else to download to check your connection against
      Just got 4.1Mb/s. Not been any less than that. and I've done about 10 tests at diffrent times of the day. With the problems people have experienced, it makes you worry how stable the whole thing is.
      With sky since 1997.

    12. #20
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: line reset?

      just done it again on my MacBook and got 4.0MB/s. I gonno put this down to alot of traffic on the internet at the moment, speed tests are still in the 37Mb/s range.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION