Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 18
    Like Tree6Likes

    Aluminium telephone wire

    This is a discussion on Aluminium telephone wire within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been having problems with speed on my fibre installation. BT have been out to check this twice now. The ...

    1. #1
      Dunx's Avatar
      Dunx is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Location
      South Yorkshire
      Posts
      28
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Aluminium telephone wire

      I've been having problems with speed on my fibre installation. BT have been out to check this twice now. The last time they were out they said there was lots of aluminium between me and the fibre cabinet, hence the poor speed. Question is this, is there a process for getting the Aluminium wire replaced or is it something I'll have to live with until FTTP is rolled out (many years from now no doubt).


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      you can get it replace but they charge you, and it not something that very cheap as it is done on a case by case basis

    4. #3
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      how far from you cab mine 210m or less and i have aluminum too but i get full speed and so far says i can get 110 Mb up and 38Mb down

      01 May, 2012 09:49:39 37888 Kbps 1644 Kbps

      old
      [URL=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1923444745.png[/URL]
      Sky User Speed Tester - 30 April, 2012 08:54:22 - 2176 Kbps - 637 Kbps

    5. #4
      Floydianslip's Avatar
      Floydianslip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Limited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      The Toon
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      Same problem here, I'm only getting 16mb down, BTO have told sky that is what the problem is and they aren't going to do anything because it's expensive to be replaced. I emailed Jeremy Darroch bskyb' CEO about the issue and I'm waiting for a response. Sky fibre team were willing to let me out of the contract if I wanted to, I've taken half line rental for a year, however I'm still pee'd off.

    6. #5
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      would not hold your breath for any change neither sky nor BT would fork out the money to replace it. they would never make their money back well maybe if you sign a 5 year contract or something super long.

    7. #6
      Floydianslip's Avatar
      Floydianslip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Limited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      The Toon
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      Been with sky for 16 years, another 5 wouldn't make any difference. Apparently the entire estate has aluminium lines, if others take sky fibre or bt infinity they are likely to experience the same issue.

    8. #7
      djpalmer93's Avatar
      djpalmer93 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Norwich Thorpe - EATHP
      Broadband ISP: Xilo Pro 16 Home
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      BT are planning to introduce FTTP-on-demand in Spring 2013 for wherever they have fibre enabled cabinets.

      There's more about it in this article: ISP BT Top 6.28M Broadband Customers as FTTC Passes 10M UK Homes - ISPreview UK

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      Quote Originally Posted by Floydianslip View Post
      Been with sky for 16 years, another 5 wouldn't make any difference. Apparently the entire estate has aluminium lines, if others take sky fibre or bt infinity they are likely to experience the same issue.
      Depending on the estate, why not rally the troops and get a petition together for BTO to replace all the cabling?

      Do some research first to see whether you should petition Ofcom as well.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Floydianslip's Avatar
      Floydianslip is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Benton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Limited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      The Toon
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      I've been on the Ofcom website Scubbie and may well speak to some of my neighbours. I'm also thinking about contacting Watchdog to see if they are interested in doing a slot on the issue.
      Scubbie likes this.

    11. #10
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Aluminium telephone wire

      Well done.

      If the estate is large enough and there are enough people interested, then I hope that something will be done, even if it means that BTO offer to fit FTTP for free to anyone interested

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION