Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 36

    Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

    This is a discussion on Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; The engineer just finished the install. I looked at the router stats and I'm only getting about 18mb up but ...

    1. #1
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      The engineer just finished the install. I looked at the router stats and I'm only getting about 18mb up but i'm getting the full 2mb down.

      Will I have to wait for the down speed to increase or will I need them to do something?

      Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      Just like ADSL, the quoted download speed is an "up to" figure. Your actual speeds will depend on your distance from the cabinet. You may also be capable of faster than 2Mbps down but will be capped at that by Sky.

    4. #3
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      According to the checker on Sky and BT's site, I'm capable of 40mb.

    5. #4
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      Sky User - Router stats

      and are you using wired or wireless

      01 May, 2012 09:49:39 37888 Kbps 1644 Kbps

      old
      [URL=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1923444745.png[/URL]
      Sky User Speed Tester - 30 April, 2012 08:54:22 - 2176 Kbps - 637 Kbps

    6. #5
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      I'm using wireless but the figures I got are from the router stats page, not a speed test.

    7. #6
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      could u post them please?

      01 May, 2012 09:49:39 37888 Kbps 1644 Kbps

      old
      [URL=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1923444745.png[/URL]
      Sky User Speed Tester - 30 April, 2012 08:54:22 - 2176 Kbps - 637 Kbps

    8. #7
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      Sure. These are from the Sagem router.

      System Details
      Manufacturer Sagemcom
      Model Number F@ST2504n
      Firmware Version 5.27.1a4N
      Modem
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 18264 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 1997 kbps

    9. #8
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      On wireless you will not get anywhere near 40Mb down, I get around 30/35Mb on my connection. Also as it's just been install it needs to settle down.
      iechyd da

    10. #9
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      Have you tried restarting both modem and router?

      01 May, 2012 09:49:39 37888 Kbps 1644 Kbps

      old
      [URL=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1923444745.png[/URL]
      Sky User Speed Tester - 30 April, 2012 08:54:22 - 2176 Kbps - 637 Kbps

    11. #10
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just got fibre installed but not gettin 40mb

      What is your actual download speed, wired if possible? I wonder if it is about half the sync speed which others are getting with a high sync.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION