Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 11
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Rumours inbound are that those not in a Sky network area (Non- SVBN ) will be able to get Sky ...

    1. #1
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      Rumours inbound are that those not in a Sky network area (Non-SVBN) will be able to get Sky Fibre Unlimited (and Pro I assume) come June/July time.

      We have known about this for a couple of weeks, but now it has been stated by 2 different sources, so therefore credible. (ish)
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      Does this just apply only to exchanges where Sky have equipment installed but are not on the SVBN, or will it apply to exchanges where, at the moment, user can only get Connect?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      Everything we know is in the first post.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    5. #4
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      Surely theres not going to be many areas where LLU is not available but fibre is though?? If an exchange is not financially viable for LLU what going to make it viable for fibre? I would imagine installing fibre is much more expensive than installing LLU.

    6. #5
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      Fiber and LLU are totaly seperate issues and i doubt LLU availability will play any part in the planned roll out schedule of fiber, bto will be upgrading most of its exchanges for fiber regardless of what other services are available and whether or not other CP's have LLU in an exchange is often purely down to what if any space BTO make available at each exchange and there will be exchanges that have limited or no space provisioned for LLU services.
      There was a general briefing posted this month on the BTO website about this very situation where space is now available at a number of exchanges where it previously wasent.

      GEN043/12 Space availability at previously closed sites


      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


      08/05/2012 For Information

      This briefing on exchange space availability is for LLU and Ethernet Communications Providers.
      The purpose of this brief is to highlight space availability at previously closed exchange sites

      In line with our commitment to monitor sites which have previously resulted in 'no space' responses when customers/CPs placed initial orders for Points of Presence (POPs), a number of exchanges have been reviewed and re-surveyed.

      It is now feasible that space could be made available at the sites listed below:-

      North Wales

      Ellesmere

      Glyndwr

      Hollingswood

      North East

      Bowes

      Tottington (non ESS)

      East Anglia

      Chafford

      Cambridge Science Park

      South Wales

      Shirley

      Seven Sisters

      Scotland

      Lhanbryde

      Glasgow Telephone House

      Wessex

      South Molton

      Orders will be managed on a first come first served basis and will need to be for the newly launched Flexible Comingling Product (FCP).

      It is anticipated that there will be extended lead times for build in the majority of cases due to enabling works.

      If you have any queries, please contact your Sales & Relationship Manager.


      Issued by KJS


      --------------------------------------------------------------------------------


      The contents of this briefing are accurate at the time of writing and are subject to change.


      Please discuss any queries or issues in relation to this briefing with your Sales & Relationship Manager or Service contact, who will be pleased to assist.


      Our Customer News Centre is now available at Openreach Customer News Centre which will provide you with a central point to check out the latest news and briefings information from Openreach.

    7. #6
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      I know they are separate but BT are simply not going to roll out fibre to every single exchange in the UK as it's simple too expensive to do. BT are also not upgrading most exchanges either. It's the same process as with ADSL and ADSL2+ as in if there's no demand for it, they won't do it.

      Less than 35% of the UK currently has access to fibre, that's not exactly going to cover all the areas that are not in the Sky LLU network is it? Most of the areas that have fibre will probably also have LLU anyway as fibre is only been rolled out in larger towns & cities that are often market 3 exchanges anyway.

    8. #7
      buddbuttocks's Avatar
      buddbuttocks is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: None
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      250
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 25 Times in 18 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      I think "non-Sky network area" would imply both Connect and Sky Broadband network (non-SVBN) exchanges, as I'm pretty sure Sky's old Stinger DSLAMs are not capable of VDSL. I'm guessing they will be reselling a BT fibre product for all non-SVBN areas - and I doubt it will be unlimited and/or unmanaged.
      NewsreadeR likes this.

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      Quote Originally Posted by buddbuttocks View Post
      I think "non-Sky network area" would imply both Connect and Sky Broadband network (non-SVBN) exchanges, as I'm pretty sure Sky's old Stinger DSLAMs are not capable of VDSL. I'm guessing they will be reselling a BT fibre product for all non-SVBN areas - and I doubt it will be unlimited and/or unmanaged.
      Thats pretty much what we thought would happen, whilst discussing it in area 51

      As for the unlimited bit, I would also share that conclusion.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      Crashst3r's Avatar
      Crashst3r is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Taunton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      I was gonna say i had heard about that being july for the rollout to all in non sky network areas.

      I was given a link by sky themselves its for the sky staff page to check if they can get fibre in their area (you check postcode only)

      Hopefully its ok to post Staff Fibre Checker

    11. #10
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre for those not in a Sky network area

      Sorry, Sky Fibre isn't available in your area right now

      Fibre is being rolled out on an on-going basis and is currently available to Sky Network customers only. Right now, Sky’s Fibre network area does not match Openreach’s network area exactly, and you may be able to get fibre with BT and not with Sky.

      From July, people in a Fibre area and a non-Sky network area will be able to get fibre from Sky.

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION