Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234
    Results 31 to 40 of 40
    Like Tree2Likes

    Fibre optic installation

    This is a discussion on Fibre optic installation within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; vw, That's a crazy situation you have been left in and even more crazy is what you've been told what ...

    1. #31
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      vw,
      That's a crazy situation you have been left in and even more crazy is what you've been told what your line can take. I give up
      iechyd da


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      vwbottom's Avatar
      vwbottom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greenford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Ealing
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      vw,
      That's a crazy situation you have been left in and even more crazy is what you've been told what your line can take. I give up
      iechyd da
      My guess is the maximum my line can take is about 25 and the bt engineer just quoted the services that are available, he shoud have quoted what the modem was telling me and by the time he did quote that he had told me I could get 80 then had to do a 360. I'll see how the line performs from now on, if it drops off guess il have to call sky again.

    4. #33
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      What are the current connection stats being reported on the Sky router?

      You might find it very useful to hack the BTO Modem as this would also confirm what the current potential is for your connection, as others have done.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #34
      vwbottom's Avatar
      vwbottom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greenford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Ealing
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      DownStreamConnection 23673 kbps
      UpStream Connection 1997 kbps


      Before the Bt engineer arrived the downstream was 19438. Something i have noticed which im not sure has been reported or not is that the SKY router doesn't report the change of speed on the sky router page unless you either reboot the router or disconnect the connection on the maintenance page E.g When the BT enginner had finished today the SKY router was reporting my connection at 19438 but my throughput was downloading at 22mbits on the speedtest, i then disconnected and reconnected the connection on the sky router mainenance page and the sky router reported the speed as 23673. So basically the figure on the sky router page doesn't dynamically tell you what the BT MODEM is syncing at in realtime.

      I shall hack the BT modem to pieces in the near future .

    6. #35
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Ok, you are getting what the Modem is delivering, but you are either:

      1. on a very long line from the cabinet
      2. the line is poor quality & unable to support a faster connection speed
      3. your exchange/cabinet hasn't had the VDSL2 Profile 17a enabled
      4. the BTO Engineer has messed up again
      5. something else

      Could you use the BT Infinity check and punch on a few telephone numbers/addresses in your local area? It would be useful to see if anyone else is able to get predicted speeds higher than 40mb down and 10mb up.

      BT Infinity – super fast broadband with a fibre optic internet connection

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #36
      Scottjames1uk's Avatar
      Scottjames1uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Well the engineer i had today was great. he was here about 2 hours. He decided the best way t get to my basement was to put a new phone line into the room. He was very helpful indeed. I am now getting 26 MB and its rising steadily. He said i should get 40MB as i am so close to the street box. Hopefully this should rise more. I am having trouble connecting my Apple Time Capsule though. I am wanting to wireless set up with the router thn i can connect the sky to this but i don't seem to be able to set it up. Its not finding the settings either when i wire or not. I will have to do some reading i think. I have never had a problem before.

    8. #37
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Are you able to use the BT speed tester, the 1 that gives your IP Profile and your current speed. Some people can't get it to work as it should (me) but if you can it would be great to see what it says.
      Scot,
      Great news and you had a good eng then, your speed should rise but if not by tomorrow reboot the modem as they have been known to get stuck when new, but only reboot the once in 1st several days.
      Iechyd da

    9. #38
      Scottjames1uk's Avatar
      Scottjames1uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Paul
      With the BT tester i am getting 32.01 Download, 1.84 Upload & 22.50 Ping. It is rising

    10. #39
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Scott,
      That's great so ignore modem reboot lol, you not get much more up but your down should increase over the next few days, nice ping also. No idea about Apple thingy sorry lol
      Iechyd da

    11. #40
      vwbottom's Avatar
      vwbottom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greenford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Ealing
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Lol, this is getting silly now. Download speed has dropped again, clearly the bt engineer that came round did a lot of nothing for 1 hour. Nothing has changed, so i rang sky and asked them to check my line and low and behold my line still has errors which is causing my sync to drop off and yet again I have another bt or visit in the near future. Sky have been excellent however, shame bt have been useless. I will keep this thread updated

     

     
    Page 4 of 4 FirstFirst ... 234

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION