Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 40
    Like Tree2Likes

    Fibre optic installation

    This is a discussion on Fibre optic installation within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thanks for the info. I will update tomorrow when its install sand post my download speed. [IMG] [/IMG]...

    1. #21
      Scottjames1uk's Avatar
      Scottjames1uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Thanks for the info. I will update tomorrow when its install sand post my download speed.
      [IMG][/IMG]


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      vw,
      Sorry to hear you have a fault, hope you be back soon flying the net lol.
      Now this is what i mean sky have had to pay twice now, the install and the fault which i think would cost more than 50 somebody said it cost for the full install.
      Iechyd da
      Why would Sky have to pay twice ? They paid the first time, when the BT engineer didn't do it correctly (or didn't spot the fault) and now BT should be doing the 2nd visit at no charge.

      Do you live on some other planet where you pay for someone else's mistakes ?


    4. #23
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      The issue over whether or not the BTO Engineer should connect the Sky Router is a simple issue over pricing.

      Many people will be capable of connecting the Sky router up, however Sky does offer the opportunity for you to get someone to do it for you. I don't know whether this is done by the BTO Engineer or a Sky Engineer. The cost is 15 i believe. The option should be available when you order SFU or SFUP.

      As for changing cables, etc., I guess that it is reasonable to expect the BTO Engineer to replace old and damaged copper cable as they are responsible for the connection all the way to the BTO Modem from the telephone exchange. Where as previously it was less easy to prove that the copper cables were to blame for a poor connection speed, the short distance from the cabinet to your home means that it is far easier to say "Oi! Fix my line" now when speeds drop.
      Moxey likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #24
      Scottjames1uk's Avatar
      Scottjames1uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      My final speed check before i have fibre installed. To be honest i have a pretty good connection already compared to a lot of people in my area.Hopefully i will double this afterwards.



    6. #25
      Scottjames1uk's Avatar
      Scottjames1uk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      My connection before fibre fitted. To be honest its quite a good speed already compared with a lot of people in my area. Hopefully the fibre will double the results.


    7. #26
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      452
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
      BY engineer told me for him to just plug the router in would of been a 30 charge lol

    8. #27
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Quote Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
      Why would Sky have to pay twice ? They paid the first time, when the BT engineer didn't do it correctly (or didn't spot the fault) and now BT should be doing the 2nd visit at no charge.

      Do you live on some other planet where you pay for someone else's mistakes ?

      No I do in fact live on this planet, ok in a cave up in them dare hills but I'll stick to my point thank you very much and that is It is crazy to install this only 75% and leave the rest to luck hope chance whatever. In fact I'm lost for words that you have something new and you don't know 100% that it works, as have been shown on this forum.

    9. #28
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      Yeah the small print on the register your details page states

      "Wireless router self-set up required otherwise 30 extra."
      andy_mk3 likes this.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Moxey For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (08-05-12)

    11. #29
      vwbottom's Avatar
      vwbottom is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Greenford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2011
      Location
      Ealing
      Posts
      50
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      So Bt Engineer has just been....

      ...He arrived at the exchange at 8:30, rang me and told me the line would go off. 30 mins later he arrived at my house, did some jiggery-pokery and i asked him what the problem is, apparently i had a lose wire + the dslam was around the wrong way + i was capped + A load of other horse manure, Basically i got the feeling "im getting fobbed off". I asked him how much my line is capable of and he said 80, i asked why i was only being quoted 30 and he said thats what my line is capable of?!?!?! Confusion set in at this point and i lost the will to live.... Suffice to say my line is still running at around the same speed as when he started, syncing 20mbits. Im going to hack the modem in a couple of weeks and have a look myself.

      My ping has gone back to 10ms which is good as it has risen to 25ms. Will see if it lasts.

    12. #30
      Alberto's Avatar
      Alberto is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sagemcom 2504N
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      19
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre optic installation

      I didn't pay any extra but the BTO engineer told me I had a managed installation booked. Didn't make any difference to me as I already had my router setup and the master socket was where i wanted it etc. He did ask me to check the internet on my PC and that I was happy before he went though.

     

     
    Page 3 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION