Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 16 of 16
    Like Tree3Likes

    Bad Speed: Things to check/try/info

    This is a discussion on Bad Speed: Things to check/try/info within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; do you mean line resync? if so this is only done if you reboot the BTO modem, you can reboot ...

    1. #11
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Bad Speed: Things to check/try/info

      do you mean line resync? if so this is only done if you reboot the BTO modem, you can reboot your router as much as you like
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      dragon2611's Avatar
      dragon2611 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: AAISP + Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: N/A
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      1,242
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 103 Times in 91 Posts

      Re: Bad Speed: Things to check/try/info

      Dns shouldn't effect it, as that's only used for the initial lookup.

      Also bang goes the slow computer theory... not really sure what to suggest there other than perhaps it's just flash being terrible.

    4. #13
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Bad Speed: Things to check/try/info

      Quote Originally Posted by slickric21 View Post
      Nah its a 3570K At 4.8ghz, 16Gb Ram, GTX 680, 120gb M4 Raid-0 SSDs, Z77 Extreme4, Killer 2100 Network card
      Using cFosSpeed for traffic management - have disabled it and recalibrated the line, same results. It has a little Bandwidth meter and on jDownloader/BTW beta/Magnet.ie it too shows 9.6MB/s and 2.4MB/s speeds.

      One thing I'm wondering is that Ive got my DNS servers set to Open, would this affect it ?
      Scared to set back to SKY as dont want the NG 3800 to lose connection and look like a resync.

      Anyway i'll have a read up on JD auto tester when i get time and re try.
      try not to worry about the flash testers too much as you are getting full throughput speed
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    5. #14
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Bad Speed: Things to check/try/info

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      do you mean line resync? if so this is only done if you reboot the BTO modem, you can reboot your router as much as you like
      Ok Cool, good to know.

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      try not to worry about the flash testers too much as you are getting full throughput speed


      yeah i'm happy with this 24/7

    6. #15
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Bad Speed: Things to check/try/info

      Let's face it, there are many who would be happy if they had your upload speed as their download.

      The gap between the haves and have nots is getting increasingly wider.
      slickric21 and gymno like this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #16
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Bad Speed: Things to check/try/info

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      did you follow the instructions here under ''getting started''
      Had a play with the settings and changed to fixed file size test and chose a 1000Mb file server, seemed to do the trick

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION