Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 42 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 416
    Like Tree28Likes

    Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

    This is a discussion on Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well I tried lots of things at my end today - unplugged all computers from sky router except one I ...

    1. #41
      mrplant's Avatar
      mrplant is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Musselburgh
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: SkyHD AnyTime+
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      62
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Well I tried lots of things at my end today - unplugged all computers from sky router except one I was testing - all macs - all got less than 24 megs - like there is a cap somewhere.. Then i tried the bt wholesale speed tester and it shows 37 megs which is about right for my 39992 sync speed.
      Why can't I get a higher throuput than 24 megs except when using the bt checker?
      Something amiss here...


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Quote Originally Posted by mrplant View Post
      Well I tried lots of things at my end today - unplugged all computers from sky router except one I was testing - all macs - all got less than 24 megs - like there is a cap somewhere.. Then i tried the bt wholesale speed tester and it shows 37 megs which is about right for my 39992 sync speed.
      Why can't I get a higher throuput than 24 megs except when using the bt checker?
      Something amiss here...
      doesn't make sense at all.

      I just checked the BT checker 3 times add the results and 38.45Mbps was the average, which is close to what I get on speedtest.net and on the speedtester here.

      What other sites have you tried? have you tried downloading an XP SP3 update and seeing what it comes down at (should be around 4.5Mb/s)

      http://www.microsoft.com/en-us/downl...ils.aspx?id=24

      note: this is fibre version of the BT speed checker BT Speed Tester Lite (Beta)
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    4. #43
      kw4121's Avatar
      kw4121 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMFOL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Location
      Coventry
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Hi long time lurker first time poster over here, i had fibre installed on 4th may and i have had similar issues i get 25mbps throughput yet am synched at 39992 kbps down and 2000 kbps up on the router stats!

      i have connected via router and ethernet cable with my macbook pro and speed results are the same approx speed here is most recent test result

      do you guys and girls think i should give sky a bell? or wait until the "10 days" are up ?

      ken

    5. #44
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      There's a Sky Knowledge Advisor response in the "Half speed" thread over on Sky Help Forum:

      "Hi all, I've had a word with the fibre team about this. It is not a known issue at present. The vast majority of the calls they have had regarding similar issues have been identified as being due to the computing and networking equipment being used or the software installed on them.

      There are a small number of examples for which the cause could not be identified and these have been passed to our network team for further investigation.

      If anyone is experiencing throughput issues where the actual speed is significantly lower than the connection speed I'd advise testing on multiple sites. If they show the same speed then test a couple of different modern PC/MAC (if possible) using a wired connection directly in to the router (no mains networking kit or wireless adapters). Make sure no other devices are connected to the router at the same time.

      If the throughput is still significantly lower than the connection speed then let us or the fibre team know and we will take it from there."

      Full thread:
      Sky Help Forum - Half speed? - Help & Support from the Official Sky Forum

      My case has already gone to their network team and they have agreed that there is a fault somewhere as my equipment is all top of the range and brand new. Pitty the idiot from BTO didn't follow the instructions otherwise I might be close to an answer now! Will have to wait until Saturday.

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Has everyone tried the BT speedtester? Test Result

      If you get your full speed there that more or less proves the problem is with Sky, as this tester goes direct to the BT servers.

      The new BT tester can be used by everyone now, including SVBN ADSL users, not just those on a BT connection as was the case previously.
      The BT speedtester comes back at 37+ for me constantly. Thats why I know it is not an issue with my equipment. EVERY other site I have tried will not go above 23mb. Even downloading a file from Microsoft is only 2.5mb/s so I am definately being throttled from somewhere and the network team at SKY agree

    6. #45
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Quote Originally Posted by mrplant View Post
      Well I tried lots of things at my end today - unplugged all computers from sky router except one I was testing - all macs - all got less than 24 megs - like there is a cap somewhere.. Then i tried the bt wholesale speed tester and it shows 37 megs which is about right for my 39992 sync speed.
      Why can't I get a higher throuput than 24 megs except when using the bt checker?
      Something amiss here...
      I have the same problem as you mate, see my post above. I would be confident it not being your equipment. Might be worth performing a netstat on your computer though to see how many open connections to the internet you have. Mine has very few when i tested therefore the reason why SKY are confident its not a problem my end.

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      doesn't make sense at all.

      I just checked the BT checker 3 times add the results and 38.45Mbps was the average, which is close to what I get on speedtest.net and on the speedtester here.

      What other sites have you tried? have you tried downloading an XP SP3 update and seeing what it comes down at (should be around 4.5Mb/s)

      Download: Windows XP Service Pack 3 Network Installation Package for IT Professionals and Developers - Microsoft Download Center - Download Details

      note: this is fibre version of the BT speed checker BT Speed Tester Lite (Beta)
      I get 37+ on the speedtester from BT only. Its the only place on the Internet when I can acheive those speeds. Downloading anything from Microsoft, including the site you have mentioned above, my maximum throughput is 2.5mb/sec suggesting my speed is capped.

      All speedtests with the exception of the bt speedtester come back approximately 23mb and the cabinet is right outside my house. my property is a new build and all equipment inside is highend or brand new.

    7. #46
      gxm's Avatar
      gxm
      gxm is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Quote Originally Posted by web_wizard View Post
      I get 37+ on the speedtester from BT only. Its the only place on the Internet when I can acheive those speeds. Downloading anything from Microsoft, including the site you have mentioned above, my maximum throughput is 2.5mb/sec suggesting my speed is capped.

      All speedtests with the exception of the bt speedtester come back approximately 23mb and the cabinet is right outside my house. my property is a new build and all equipment inside is highend or brand new.
      Hi,

      It sounds like I'm pretty much in the same situation as yourself with regards to file downloads speeds, other speedtests etc compared to the BT speedtester. However I am able to get better results from the SkyUser Speed Tester (not quite 37 but around 35). Do you still get the slow throughput speed from that test as well?

    8. #47
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      I'm interested to no what browsers people are using when doing speed tests. I found chrome to be very erratic and can give silly speeds like in my signature. To quite low speeds sometimes. I usually use Firefox. It also gives me better ping times and is definitely more stable for me.

      Sent from my ST18i
      Last edited by Fryingpan77; 10-05-12 at 11:35 AM.
      With sky since 1997.

    9. #48
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Quote Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
      Tried that site (even though I only have Sky LLU ADSL) and if I just enter my phone number - don't know the serviceID - it just keeps saying that an error has occured.
      Are you sure you are going to the correct site? The new site does not ask for a phone number, it only requires the latest version of Java to be installed.

      this one is supposedly upto 24mb, but is very accurate with my fibre
      That is the same tester. If you go to my link, you will find the one for 24Mb+. Depending on your screen you may have to scroll down to see it.
      Test Result

      As I said before, this test connects you to BT servers, not Sky's.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #49
      StimoUk's Avatar
      StimoUk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: WMMAL
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      right i've had mine installed yesterday, im connected at 39992/2000 and i've been doing speedtests all day using various testers, the highest i've had is around 30Mb but on average 20-25Mb but thats not the only problem, i've seem to be under some sort of traffic management because after 19:30 last night i went down to 6Mbish with a 100ms ping which a friend of mine who got connected 10 days ago today has had every night until 23:00ish then it jumps back upto 25Mb.

    11. #50
      David76's Avatar
      David76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Are you sure you are going to the correct site? The new site does not ask for a phone number, it only requires the latest version of Java to be installed.



      That is the same tester. If you go to my link, you will find the one for 24Mb+. Depending on your screen you may have to scroll down to see it.
      Test Result

      As I said before, this test connects you to BT servers, not Sky's.
      yep, if you dont scroll down far enough you wont see note 2, which i did lol

      the test does connect you to BT servers, but it is still outside of skys network which is confusing as the only part of bts network that sky use is from your house to the exchange.

     

     
    Page 5 of 42 FirstFirst ... 3456715 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION