Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 19 of 42 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast
    Results 181 to 190 of 416
    Like Tree28Likes

    Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

    This is a discussion on Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; just been told that sky has finally idetified where the fault is at they say the exchange is faulty. Has ...

    1. #181
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      just been told that sky has finally idetified where the fault is at they say the exchange is faulty.

      Has anyone else been told this???


    2. Advertisement
    3. #182
      Skycarp's Avatar
      Skycarp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Selby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Hi All
      Well just had Open Reach guy here for 2.5 hours regarding my "1/2 speed" problem. Did all the standard line checks etc etc Swapped the Huawei modem for a ECI 1B one,the logic here being that as it is ECI kit in the fibre box it"may" be more compatible . Got a Line Reset done { that took a bit of doing! } and guess what ...........................nothing has changed !!! Still only get a throughput of between 15 and 21 ish despite a router sync of 39994/ 2000. A line test via his JDSL showed a down speed of 54433. Got to be fair great guy tried everything that he could rang every body that he could {including Sky} BUT i find myself still "stuck" on what i consider to be 1/2 speed.
      Just to rub salt in the wounds 30 mins after he left i got a text from sky to tell me that they did not need to come to the property as the problem was now "fixed" !!
      Have phoned the fibre team back to tell them that is definitely NOT fixed and the case is now re opened again and a new router is on its way.
      The team all seem to know {spoke to 5 different people over the last few days}about this problem that many of us are experiencing BUT still seem no nearer to finding a solution.
      Just wonder what i may get if i was an infinity customer ???????????
      cheers !

    4. #183
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Sorry to hear its still not sorted. The problem with all this is, is it a sky problem or bto. If it's bto, chances are if you got infinity, you would have the same problem. For the life if me, I can't really see what sky do apart from we are on their network. I'm worried for other people who have the same problem as you or may have this problem in the future.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    5. #184
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by Damo82 View Post
      just been told that sky has finally idetified where the fault is at they say the exchange is faulty.

      Has anyone else been told this???
      Did they give you a timescale of when they might fix the problem ?

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    6. #185
      Skycarp's Avatar
      Skycarp is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Selby
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      May 2007
      Posts
      107
      Thanks
      4
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      Did they give you a timescale of when they might fix the problem ?

      Sent from my ST18i
      Gave me no idea as to when it will be sorted as i do believe that they still do not know what the problem is that they need to sort !
      Just seen Damo82 comments maybe he ,or anyone else that knows could expand a bit on these please ? Is it ALL the exchanges that have the same fault ? OR just a few ?? if so any idea which ones ?? Certainly an hour ago when i spoke to Fibre team they knew they had a prob BUT did not have any answers.

    7. #186
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      they claimed two weeks. already been a week, any fix by sky seems to be two week every

    8. #187
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      they guy did not seem to have enough understanding of how the fibre works to be able to tell me if its bt or sky issue, i am guess sky as otherwise all the ISP would be effected

    9. #188
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      I'm guessing that the "IP Layer" issue (as it has previously been referred to) relates to the Sky core network (SVBN) only and it is localised (because in as much as there seem to be many with the half-speed issue, there are also many who do not have it). Any similarity on locations of those experiencing half-speed?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #189
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      re: Sky Admits fault with Sky and BT network resulting in slow connects @ 1/2 speed

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      I'm guessing that the "IP Layer" issue (as it has previously been referred to) relates to the Sky core network (SVBN) only and it is localised (because in as much as there seem to be many with the half-speed issue, there are also many who do not have it). Any similarity on locations of those experiencing half-speed?
      Maybe a stupid question but what is "IP layer" and how does it cause problems for sky fibre customers ?
      With sky since 1997.

    11. #190
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      I assume that they mean the network layer (layer 3) of the OSI model which is concerned with routing and stuff. I commented (earlier in this thread) about what it might mean when it was first mentioned by someone with the half-speed problem who had been told this was the cause by Sky and it would be fixed in 2 weeks.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to speedyrite For This Useful Post:

      Fryingpan77 (08-06-12)

     

     
    Page 19 of 42 FirstFirst ... 9171819202129 ... LastLast

    LinkBacks (?)


    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION