Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 14 of 14

    Before I attach my airport extreme router will it

    This is a discussion on Before I attach my airport extreme router will it within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Ipster If the AE is a new one it should be dual band which will cover both ...

    1. #11
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Before I attach my airport extreme router will it

      Quote Originally Posted by Ipster View Post
      If the AE is a new one it should be dual band which will cover both your G and N Cards, if nothing else it will improve the wifi signal and easy to set up in bridge mode.
      The Airport Extreme and Time Capsule are excellent routers. My TC is great


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Before I attach my airport extreme router will it

      My laptop is G, im looking to buy a pci e N mini card, but am unsure which to buy.. But reading the replys it sounds like unless I go full N the routers pointless ..
      I am not certain, but if your laptop is wireless g, it will probably only have one aerial. Wireless N requires at least 2 aerials, so be careful what you buy. A plug in USB adapter may be a better bet.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Charlie1973 (06-05-12)

    5. #13
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Before I attach my airport extreme router will it

      Thanks my Lap top does indeed only have one, I'll try a USB one as they seem cheaper..

      Can I ask is it a case of connecting my APE to sky router and turning off wifi on it

    6. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Before I attach my airport extreme router will it

      The simplest way is to connect it by ethernet, turn off the wireless on the Sky router and disable the DHCP server on the Apple.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Isitme For This Useful Post:

      Charlie1973 (06-05-12)

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION