Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 23
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Thx speedyrite, prob best to start a new thread for the pics as were kind of hijacking the thread a ...

    1. #11
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      Thx speedyrite, prob best to start a new thread for the pics as were kind of hijacking the thread a little now i guess

      anyway to get the thread back on topic, has the OP been able to get his connection sorted yet ?
      speedyrite likes this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Necula's Avatar
      Necula is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hemel Hempstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      Nope, still no joy.

      My problem has now been elevated up to something called the customer contact team. I had a call from a helpful chap today who has booked an OR engineer to come out tomorrow and recheck the line.

      They think though that the problem is with the exchange as it sounds like they have had other complaints from people on the same exchange (Hemel Hempstead).

      Will update after engineer visit tomorrow.

    4. #13
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      Your BT OR modem is a 3B type yes???
      iechyd da

    5. #14
      Necula's Avatar
      Necula is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Hemel Hempstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      Yes, it is a 3B modem.

    6. #15
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      ok that's good you can cross that off your list, as to date non of the 3B type has failed.
      iechyd da

    7. #16
      stu1978's Avatar
      stu1978 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: bathgate
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Location
      bathgate
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      @ Necula

      Having the exact same problem as yourself, after 2 routers, 2 visits from OR engineers (the latest visit was today) and multiple calls to sky's cutomer solutions and fibre teams still no joy. Changed the WAN settings from auto to WANoE just as u did and get nothing but a solid amber light. Waiting on another call back from the fibre team to see where to go from here. Will post again if they find a solution.

    8. #17
      jamielowe's Avatar
      jamielowe is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      I had a similar problem, turned out that my account hadn't been 'built' at the exchange. Took the BTO chap about 4hrs to sort this out though. Still have half speed, mind....

    9. #18
      tom5865's Avatar
      tom5865 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      1
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      Quote Originally Posted by stu1978 View Post
      @ Necula

      Having the exact same problem as yourself, after 2 routers, 2 visits from OR engineers (the latest visit was today) and multiple calls to sky's cutomer solutions and fibre teams still no joy. Changed the WAN settings from auto to WANoE just as u did and get nothing but a solid amber light. Waiting on another call back from the fibre team to see where to go from here. Will post again if they find a solution.
      I had exactly the same problem last week. we ended up with no broadband for nearly 2 weeks! can't tell you the exact problem, but im pretty sure it was something to do with our line not being authenticated at skys end? evetually it was passed onto their network team who fixed it straight away (within half hour).

      I recommend you demand this passed to their network team (sns team i think they call it? :S) and in the mean time send an e-mail to
      jeremy.darrochatbskyb.com




      explain how much you have been messed around and how you want to leave.

      I managed to get 6moths half price tv, free multi room for a year, 12months free line rental and another 1tb box. as long as you polite but stern when you speak to them.


      Last edited by Isitme; 16-06-12 at 12:08 PM. Reason: disabled email, please do not post emails that can be read by spiders.

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to tom5865 For This Useful Post:

      stu1978 (26-06-12)

    11. #19
      rxr's Avatar
      rxr
      rxr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Cheltenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jun 2012
      Posts
      2
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre broadband no broadband connection detected

      Signed up to say that I'm in exactly the same situation. BT Engineer said the line was fine and syncing at 40Mbps, and that his job was done. The Sky router doesn't detect a connection and shows no Internet light. Tried forcing WANoE but that didn't work either and just gave me a solid red or amber (can't remember which) Internet light. I also had a replacement sent to me but that one has the same issue.

      I was supposed to have Internet on 14/06/12, but I'm nearing the two week mark now without it. I've also been elevated to that Customer Contact Team thing; about 67 hours ago I was told to expect a call within 72 hours. If they don't ring me today then I'm really not going to be happy. Yesterday I rang up again to find out what was going on - a guy from the Fibre team said that he'd definitely ring me to give me an update on the situation before he left work at 6pm - would you believe he didn't follow up on his promise!

      Oh how nice it would be nice if Sky sent out their own engineers in the first place, ones who would ensure their customers' connections work.

    12. #20
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1
      @rxr: From the customer's point of view it would be nice if Sky could do the whole job end-to-end, but as you are no doubt aware Openreach is responsible for the telephone infrastructure that voice & data services run on between your home and the exchange and is the only organisation that is permitted to fiddle with it all
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION