Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 54
    Like Tree3Likes

    Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Apparently they are quite busy, but someone should be able to help you....

    1. #31
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Apparently they are quite busy, but someone should be able to help you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      AndyN16's Avatar
      AndyN16 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bishop Auckland
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      3
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Following my post yesterday, has anyone who was experiencing a slow connection been in contact with Sky in order to get this issue resolved?

      If so, have you had any success?
      Hi Scubbie, I called SKY today as the speed tests are constantly showing around 20mb download yet the SKY Router is showing a connection of 39992kbps.

      I mentioned if there was a possibility of the line being capped but all I got told was to wait 14 days whilst the line testing continues and to call back if still getting extreme slow speeds.

      So no real progress.

    4. #33
      Doobrey's Avatar
      Doobrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Thank you Doobrey.

      Ok,

      Moira contacted me today from the sky fibre team, as agreed around 2pm. We went through the discussions around the BTO engineer and she read the notes. She then contacted, I guess, 2nd or 3rd line support that said they had heard of this but are not in a position to follow this up until at least 10 days of the service being installed!!! Ok, so Moira and I have agreed that she will contact me next Tuesday for an update. She said however, that looking on my line it appears that the speed is slowly getting faster, which I have to agree, the speediest today is showing 25Mb rather than the 21/22 from the other day.

      Perhaps there is some dlm style of activity occurring on the line?

      I will update you on my speeds over the next few days and certainly next Tuesday.

      Doobs.
      Last edited by Doobrey; 04-05-12 at 07:18 AM.

    5. The Following User Says Thank You to Doobrey For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (03-05-12)

    6. #34
      Doobrey's Avatar
      Doobrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      WIFI speeds down to 3Mb this morning

      Ethernet downloads at 24Mb


    7. #35
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      WIFI speeds down to 3Mb this morning
      That is very poor. Have you tried using Inssider(link below) to discover the best channel to use?

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    8. #36
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Can some explain to me about selecting a channel... Do you select one that isn't being used by others ?

    9. #37
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Quote Originally Posted by Charlie1973 View Post
      Can some explain to me about selecting a channel... Do you select one that isn't being used by others ?
      I will try....

      Essentially in the UK you have 13 channels to choose from. However the width of the signal overlaps with 2 channels either side. So someone using channel 1, will have a signal that overlaps lower into "no-mans land" and up in to channels 2 & 3. Channel 6 overlaps channels 4 through 8.

      With this in mind, the ideal situation is to consider channels 1, 6, 11 and 13 first.

      Devices such as Microwave Ovens work at a frequency close to a WiFi router and can interfere with the signals.

      Using inSSIDer you can see which channels are busiest near you and which are quietest. Ideally it would be nice to use a channel which is empty, but often this is impossible now.

      Using the image below taken the other day at my home, you can see that where I live it the spectrum is very busy.

      Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation-2.4ghz.jpg

      If you were my neighbour, then Ideally you should consider using either channel 11 or 13 since my router uses a paired channel setup (1 & 5).

      In practise though, some people have found that something else locally has been interfering with say channel 11, so they have looked around and have had to use another channel, even though it is quite busy.

      Ideally always stick with 1, 6, 11 and 13 at first. If none of these provide a stable connection, then start looking at the other channels in between.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Charlie1973 (05-05-12)

    11. #38
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Thanks, that makes sense now l

    12. #39
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Re the folks who appear to have a capped speed on SFU, did the BTO engineer complete all the tests using the electronic gizmo connected to the line?

      I'm wondering if there is some connection between BTO engineer doing/not doing these tests before leaving the premises and the customer ending up with a satisfactory/unsatisfactory connection speed?
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    13. #40
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Re the folks who appear to have a capped speed on SFU, did the BTO engineer complete all the tests using the electronic gizmo connected to the line?

      I'm wondering if there is some connection between BTO engineer doing/not doing these tests before leaving the premises and the customer ending up with a satisfactory/unsatisfactory connection speed?
      Hi Speedy,

      I read your other post and am starting to think that there might be a connection to what you have said.

      The engineer that installed mine, though he was a nice guy, did seem to want to get away as quickly as he could. When I asked for him to check my lines maximum speed potential he just fobbed me off. He waited for me to run one speedtest from speedtest.net and when it came back at 21mb he said oh that's much better than what you have now. Then I said well the modem is connected at 40 doesn't that seem a little low? He said well it's just because we have just started it up. The DLM period will speed it up for you.

      I think that if he had have actually tested my line first he would have noticed that something wasn't right and he would have been able to sort it

    14. The Following User Says Thank You to web_wizard For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (05-05-12)

     

     
    Page 4 of 6 FirstFirst ... 23456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION