Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 54
    Like Tree3Likes

    Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; 1. 39999/1997 2. 37-38Mbps/1.80Mbps 3. safe mode not tried 4. both wifi & wired 5. win vista AMD Athlon X64 ...

    1. #11
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      1. 39999/1997
      2. 37-38Mbps/1.80Mbps
      3. safe mode not tried
      4. both wifi & wired
      5. win vista AMD Athlon X64 2.2GHz / MacBoock 13" Intel Core 2 Duo 2.4Ghz both 4GB ram
      6. None
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298



    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      I think it would help if everyone included their exchange name. This may show a connection between low speeds and a particular area.
      Scubbie likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think it would help if everyone included their exchange name. This may show a connection between low speeds and a particular area.
      That would be a good idea, along with est. speeds.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    5. #14
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      well, when i get my sky fibre installation sorted out on 14th may, i will add information here...

    6. #15
      batfin's Avatar
      batfin is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newtownards
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      1: sync at 39998 down 1999 up
      2: 28896 Kbps down 1328 Kbps up
      3: I use a mac
      4: wired connection to sky router
      5: Macbook Air 1.86 C2Duo with 2GB RAM
      6: no optimisation
      7: NINTS exchange
      8: Estimated 40, OR modem reports max attainable of 96

    7. #16
      s1ndr0me's Avatar
      s1ndr0me is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWPEU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Porthcawl
      Posts
      95
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      here goes

      1. 39998/1999
      2. speedtest.net London 37.68/1.71 (Hard wired) - 32.5/1.68 (Sky Router wifi)
      3. don't have time, can't see there being a difference
      3. wifi: Acer revo 3610, atom, 2gig, xbmcbuntu (32Mb/s); dell studio, 4gig, 3.2 dualcore, vista (32Mb/s) - wired: dell quadcore w/8gig, win7 (37.68Mb/s)
      4. No addtional tweaks
      5. porthcawl
      6. 40-40

      Network path BTO modem -> Sky router -> netgear mini gig switch -> device

      IOS devices will only connect to the router @ 54Mb/s so I'm guessing G

      Sky router interface is a bit slow and finally I still have an issue with wifi and reservations.

      on the whole I am very impressed. All my gear is working fine out of the box. Getting the quoted speed and its more than consistent. little bit of drop off on the wifi but thats to be expected with cheap kit like the sagem.

      pease pudding

    8. #17
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      1. 39935/1999 - ping 18ms

      2a. SKY USER speedtest - 01 May, 2012 09:39:58 37224 Kbps 1649 Kbps
      2b. speedtest.net London 37.68/1.70 (Hard wired) - 36.75/1.70 (Sky Router wifi) - QOS disabled = 1.85 upload

      3. safe mode not test = no problems

      4. Wired & Wireless

      5. wifi: HP Pavilion G6 I3 380M, win7 pro - wired: Phenom II 955BE 4gig ram win 7 pro, gtx480

      6. NO optimisations

      7. NDUCK - Uckfield

      8. Estimated 34.2mb (modem max attainable 47.5/7.5)

      9. Distance to Exchange 1.1Km as crow flies

      10. Distance to fibre cabinet 500-700 Meters ish (350meters as crow flies)
      Last edited by Angel_Rex; 01-05-12 at 10:04 AM.

    9. #18
      web_wizard's Avatar
      web_wizard is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Undercliffe (MYUND)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Yorkshire
      Posts
      98
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      What I have noticed on my current fibre connection, I can only get about 26mb on any speedtest.net server at all. Whether it be wireless or wired. I have tried all sorts of servers in different countries and the results are the same. The only place I can get speeds over that is on BT's speed checker and even sky user speed checker tells me it is 28mb and no more. Yet, BT speed tester says 37.7.

      Its all very strange for me.

    10. #19
      W2S's Avatar
      W2S
      W2S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      Hi web wizard

      By any chance is your router and bt modem close together if they are can you move them 2foot plus apart and rerun speed test

    11. #20
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Speeds and TCP Optimisation

      *Composed as I was reading a thread - apparent solution at the end*

      That is interesting.

      Test Result

      There is a nice button for ADSL & FTTC Diagnostics. I can't do any FTTC checking, perhaps it may work for those on SFU or SFUP.

      I've just been looking through some of the many posts on the BT Forums regarding this. It appears to be a common theme. Suggestions include interference from AV software (hence asking people to test in Safe Mode).

      This thread makes interesting reading: Still not gettimg around 40mb - BTCare Community Forums

      It looks like someone needs to get your lines correctly configured. Some are suggesting that BTW has capped their lines and this has later been corrected.

      Re: Still not gettimg around 40mb - Page 11 - BTCare Community Forums
      The engineer has been and gone.
      Whilst here he did say that he has heard of this problem a fair bit before and basically said that it happens because when the fibre system is being installed, the cap is put on the line to allow them to carry out their tests. This cap is supposed to automatically lift apparently, but sometimes doesn't. The cap can also appear on the line if the system detects a fault with the line (perhaps a tiny discontinuity in the line).

      He spent a while at my house testing the line and discovered that there was a discontinuity at the cabinet, so he went off to fix that.

      When he came back he said that the line is fixed now and that he would go to the exchange and put a call into BT wholesale in order to get the cap lifted within 72 hours. Fingers crossed, it will be ok in the next few days.

      It was very satisfying to hear an engineer confirm the problem and that he'd seen it before!

      (Note that my 'technical' explanation above may contain mistakes so please don't hold BT to anything I say here!)

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

     

     
    Page 2 of 6 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION