Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 16
    Like Tree2Likes

    Sync speed vs download speed

    This is a discussion on Sync speed vs download speed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Ok this is really starting to bug me. My sync speed is 39996/2000 yet and something I'm failing to understand, ...

    1. #1
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Sync speed vs download speed

      Ok this is really starting to bug me.

      My sync speed is 39996/2000 yet and something I'm failing to understand, is why my download speed hovers around 32d/1.7u...

      I'm using a wired connection to my laptop to test, and no matter what it just want reach the 37s I see members on here with the same sync...as anyone got any ideas why? I know I'm prob goin about this, but I'm just trying to understand why lol


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed

      have u tried different servers? it could also be the age of your pc (or something running in the back ground if u wanna test for that start PC in Safe mode with networking)
      Ipster likes this.

      01 May, 2012 09:49:39 37888 Kbps 1644 Kbps

      old
      [URL=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1923444745.png[/URL]
      Sky User Speed Tester - 30 April, 2012 08:54:22 - 2176 Kbps - 637 Kbps

    4. #3
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed


    5. #4
      kn100's Avatar
      kn100 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Location
      Bridgend, South Wales
      Posts
      66
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed

      Losses due to overhead. Your router may be syncing at the full 40 but vdsl overhead will eat up a small portion of it to keep itself running. Nothing you can do about it other than ensure your computer is connected to the router in the most direct way possible.

      If your download speed is as low as 32, ensure you've got your computer plugged in via Ethernet, and then do a speed test. Try another computer to rule out computer speed as being an issue, but if the problem persists may be worth a call to sky.

    6. #5
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed

      It's my understand that very few people actually get their Full Sync Speed as their Download Speed as there are to many variables to interfere with things, Also I believe everything has to be spot-on from the Exchange to the cab from the cab to your home from the modem to router and router to your PC and then your PC has to be set up correct et al. I honestly don't believe that is possible for everybody. A glitch of any sort and it's bye bye D/L speed.
      iechyd da

    7. #6
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed

      Thanks for the advice guys, one thing that's puzzling me is when I do a speed test, it's saying my closest server is in London, yet I live in stourport which is by Birmingham, could this be the reason ?

      Iv changed my wireless channel to 3 and have noticed my ipad2 now connects at 27m and not stuck on the 20 on other channels... Which I don't get :-/

    8. #7
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed

      Which speed test server is selected depends on where your Internet connection is feed through to the Sky servers. There is a large bank of Sky servers somewhere in the London area. There are also a few others dotted around the country.

      Personally I would suggest that you try a few different servers too as the London speed test servers get hammered. Try Milton Keynes or Kent areas as an example.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    9. #8
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Fab Fibre (Sky network)
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NowTV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,409
      Thanks
      417
      Thanked 167 Times in 161 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed

      Also, if you login to speedtest.net, in Settings you can also refine (change) your location which I think affects the chosen server. Mine was showing as Farnham, Surrey. Quickly "refined" this by briefly connecting to my LAN by wi-fi and then letting OS X Location Services on the Mac do its thing (I expect there is a Windows equivalent but I don't know what it is!)

      Alternatively, also by logging in, you can choose a default server to use in Settings.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #9
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed

      On the speedtest.net app for ipad/android you can select server to use by clicking on tools and then change server and a drop down menu will appear will a long list of servers places you can choose from.
      iechyd da

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to Paul1360 For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (29-04-12)

    12. #10
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sync speed vs download speed

      Ok thanks again guys and gals, iv redone some speed tests but using the massy server in france, which for some reason gives 36d/1.8u and a ping around 28....
      Yet when i select my closest server from my house, Coventry or Birmingham i again only get 32d/1.6u but my ping is 17....

      Oh well i cant figure it out, but overall my speed as been very solid, never goin below 30 but you know what its like, the more you have the more you want lol.

      Will had if i had bothered to find out before hand that all my wifi devices will only connect at a max rate of 20 give or take, i might as well of stayed on sky unlimited really...got 30 days to decide if im goin to keep fiber now, might change back as seeing im 99% wireless is there really getting faster speeds i cant handle ?

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION