Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 20
    Like Tree1Likes

    Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

    This is a discussion on Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Bt guy installed everything great, my little issue I'm confused about and I'm sure someone's goin to correct me... How ...

    1. #1
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Bt guy installed everything great, my little issue I'm confused about and I'm sure someone's goin to correct me...

      How do I select wireless N mode on the sky router ? I've only got G modes showing up, or have I missed something.

      Sorry for being a noob as this is my first post thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Hi charlie,

      If you leave it on auto it will broadcast N speeds, you need a wireless N card in your laptop as well.

      Hopefully Scubbie will see this and post up some max speeds for wireless N
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    4. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Charlie1973 (27-04-12)

    5. #3
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      My routers set to auto. So it uses wireless b/g/n for whatever devices needs to connect. I think it will be under maintenance or can be changed in settings.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    6. #4
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      I take it iPads and iPhones can't do N then, as I'm ONLY lol, getting 20 meg max on them. Thanks tho

    7. #5
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Charlie1973 View Post
      I take it iPads and iPhones can't do N then, as I'm ONLY lol, getting 20 meg max on them. Thanks tho
      they can, but, when connected to my sky router i get the same as you around 20-24Mb, but when connected to my ABES they can both hit 33-36Mb (iphone 4s and ipad 3)
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    8. #6
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Must be the sky router then..

    9. #7
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Charlie1973 View Post
      Must be the sky router then..
      yeah, as I said, Scubbie knows wireless speeds, i'm sure she will see this thread
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    10. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      pmsl - Ok I'm catching up

      See this thread: http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...on-speeds.html

      The Sagem 2504N works at up to 144mbps. I don't know the specs of the iPads, but a few members have notices that their max speed on this router is limited to 20Mbps.

      If WiFi is important to you, look around at your options and what you can afford and seriously consider getting either a Cable router or an AP which works at 300mbps or higher. Remember too that the iPads work on both 2.4GHz and 5GHz on the WiFi, so a router or AP support the 5GHz channels could benefit you if you live in a busy area for WiFi.

      Finally, remember that testing on WiFi will never be as good as a wired connection.
      Ipster likes this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    11. #9
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      I'm totally lost now.. So my ipad2 can give faster speeds than 22 max im getting ? So it's the sky router that's the bottle neck...?

      Help ?

    12. #10
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Charlie1973 View Post
      I'm totally lost now.. So my ipad2 can give faster speeds than 22 max im getting ? So it's the sky router that's the bottle neck...?

      Help ?
      I am sure people on here have had faster speedtests on iPad etc then 22 - Have a search for andrewjr's posts or maybe send him a PM?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION