Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 20 of 20
    Like Tree1Likes

    Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

    This is a discussion on Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Charlie1973 I'm totally lost now.. So my ipad2 can give faster speeds than 22 max im getting ...

    1. #11
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Charlie1973 View Post
      I'm totally lost now.. So my ipad2 can give faster speeds than 22 max im getting ? So it's the sky router that's the bottle neck...?

      Help ?
      yes and yes, but it will need to be connected to a router that broadcasts 5Ghz I believe. 20Mb on an iPad is plenty of speed however
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    2. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Charlie1973 (28-04-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #12
      Mattyjkuk's Avatar
      Mattyjkuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willaston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      I did a test earlier on my iPad 2 from the sky router and this is what speeds I get

      31ms ping
      35.99mbps download
      1.83mbps upload


      Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?-photo-28-04-2012-10-40-41.jpg
      Last edited by Mattyjkuk; 28-04-12 at 11:32 AM.

    5. #13
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Marty how are you getting those download speeds on ipad2

    6. #14
      Mattyjkuk's Avatar
      Mattyjkuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willaston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Haven't got a clue, I only get around 20mbps on my iPhone 4. I used the Massy server on speedtest app and have my sky router on auto for wireless mode

    7. #15
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      speedtest is a handy app but it is unpredictable with some of its results

    8. #16
      Mattyjkuk's Avatar
      Mattyjkuk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Willaston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      Crewe
      Posts
      24
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Very true but I have had sfu for just over a month now and I use the speedtest app often with very similar results every time.

    9. #17
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Hightest iv got my ipad2 is 26 better but im really starting to think paying the extra dosh for fiber just isnt worth it as i was getting 13 on ipad2 with unlimited

    10. #18
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      354
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Quote Originally Posted by Charlie1973 View Post
      Hightest iv got my ipad2 is 26 better but im really starting to think paying the extra dosh for fiber just isnt worth it as i was getting 13 on ipad2 with unlimited
      I think it all depends on how well your connection was previously on ADSL. For me the move to Fibre is the best thing I've done since moving from Analogue TV to digital. I only managed 3 meg on ADSL and felt as though I was missing out on a lot, especially not being able to download large files in a short space of time. Its well worth the extra 12.50 in my opinion especially as just a year ago I was with AOL for broadband and they were charging me 24.99 for 3 meg.

    11. #19
      Charlie1973's Avatar
      Charlie1973 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      110
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Dont get me wrong the speed is stable as you like, hardly moves, just cant understand why i can get 35d from france as my sig now shows, yet in the UK im getting 32d...? Thats wired connection, also why is my ip address saying my router is in London when i live 150m up the road ?

    12. #20
      James_Mitchell's Avatar
      James_Mitchell is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      756
      Thanks
      43
      Thanked 50 Times in 47 Posts

      Re: Just had fibre installed and I'm confused ?

      Even with my iPad2 connected to my Apple Time Capsule, I don't see the connected WiFi link speed any faster than 65 Mbit/s (my iMac does connect at the full 450 MBit/s though).

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION