Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast
    Results 31 to 40 of 79
    Like Tree10Likes

    New Installs show us your Speed

    This is a discussion on New Installs show us your Speed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; gfsracing whereabouts in Worksop are you? Reason I ask is I got connected this morning and I'm having the same ...

    1. #31
      Nudger's Avatar
      Nudger is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Worksop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      36
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      gfsracing whereabouts in Worksop are you?

      Reason I ask is I got connected this morning and I'm having the same problems.

      I'm averaging about 34Mb on a wired connection and much less on wireless, but that is on wireless G though.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #32
      Doobrey's Avatar
      Doobrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by gfsracing View Post
      my router is showing 39998 dl and 2000 uload speed but on speed checkers using a wired connection on my 1 week old works laptop it only shows 32 on speedtest

      on 2 yr old laptop wireless N only showing 28mb, whats wrong why cant i get 38mb like everyone else

      Engineer said house further up road got 38mb
      Mine is the same.... Synn'cd at 39999, but can only manage a consistent download of 24Mb!!! The Sky speed checked shows 35Mb...I am confused.

    4. #33
      uno's Avatar
      uno
      uno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      There seems to be quite a lot of people including my parents who have been installed today who are having the issue of router and modem showing full sync speed but getting a lot lower speeds between 14-28mb.

      It appears to me that Sky may need to reset some of their systems and ISAMs as the Openreach modems and test equipment is showing full speed so problem is at Sky end possibly quite a simple thing of just resetting line cards on ISAMs to show new higher speed profiles or resetting the throughput speed on their internal systems.

      The major issue is nobody seems to know how to solve the issue at the moment as I have spoken to fibre team on behalf of parents they admitted in end its a bit of problem and gave them some suggestions on how to try fix problem

    5. #34
      Doobrey's Avatar
      Doobrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed


    6. #35
      Doobrey's Avatar
      Doobrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Did Sky FIbre team offer any suggestions on how to fix it?

    7. #36
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by TomEarnie View Post
      This?

      DownStream Connection Speed 39992 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 2000 kbps

      Or the router stats table?
      That's the one thank you. Like the previous poster said. This is a strange one. With me getting it just today, I don't fully no the ins and outs if it all at the moment. Has anybody tried resetting the modem or router to see if this improved things. I'd double check everything first. Things like is your modem connected to port 1 of your router for example. Check what your device is connecting with as in wireless g/n. If you've done this, its time to ring sky for advice. Sorry I cant be much more help.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Fryingpan77 For This Useful Post:

      TomEarnie (27-04-12)

    9. #37
      Doobrey's Avatar
      Doobrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Ok update..

      Tried to use usenet for a download test. getting just under 4.4Mb!!

      So not sure what is happening here.

      Doobs

    10. #38
      uno's Avatar
      uno
      uno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      It is nothing to do with the Openreach modem or the fibre connection the issue is on the Sky side of things and as stated in last post possible problems on their equipment or settings. As the modems are syncing at full speed just Sky side throttling things as say could be very simple thing to do for the right person, when I spoke to fibre team earlier i gave them a few things to try some of which may not be possible until tonight/overnight as may need to reset line cards at ISAM level or even possibly restart the whole ISAMs which then means everybody loses connection for 1 minute or so. I also suggested they tried removing the profiles on their systems and then try adding them back to see if that clears it.

      At first they tried telling me that it was because of 10 day training period until I explained what I do and hopefully will realise I know what I am on about and will listen to my advice and suggestions I tried to put it accross in a friendly way as didnt want to tell them how to do their job but all agreed such a new thing for them all.

    11. #39
      Doobrey's Avatar
      Doobrey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Base
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Posts
      51
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Just in case it helps with any form of diagnosis, my personal situation is as follows :-

      System Details
      Manufacturer Sagemcom
      Model Number F@ST2504n
      Firmware Version 5.27.1a4N
      Modem
      Modem Status Connected
      DownStream Connection Speed 39992 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 2000 kbps

      On speed test I get approximately 3Mb download. Yet when I run up a usenet sessions and download something large, I am getting 4.3Mb download.

      I am hard wired into the router on both occassions.

      Going onto the sky speed tester, I get around 3.5Mb download.

      Hope this helps?

    12. #40
      gfsracing's Avatar
      gfsracing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worksop
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Nudger View Post
      gfsracing whereabouts in Worksop are you?

      Reason I ask is I got connected this morning and I'm having the same problems.

      I'm averaging about 34Mb on a wired connection and much less on wireless, but that is on wireless G though.

      im in Gateford.

     

     
    Page 4 of 8 FirstFirst ... 23456 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION