Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 79
    Like Tree10Likes

    New Installs show us your Speed

    This is a discussion on New Installs show us your Speed within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Here's mine, I have quite a low ping. is that good or bad?...

    1. #21
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      354
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Here's mine, I have quite a low ping. is that good or bad?



    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      TomEarnie's Avatar
      TomEarnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      For some reason my speed test say that I'm 50 miles from London. I'm in Bradford which is strange. When I do a speed test it usually picks Manchester on my old adls connection. Now it chooses London automatically, but when I did a manual Manchester speed test my results were poor. Have you tried different servers or are they all showing the same.
      I'm in Huddersfield and I've tried London aswell which it picks automatically, I'm getting the same results.The Openreach engineer said that my speed should increase over the next few hours and days but my installation was at 11am and I've bearly seen a increase of less than 1 or 2MBs.

    4. #23
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by TomEarnie View Post
      I'm in Huddersfield and I've tried London aswell which it picks automatically, I'm getting the same results.The Openreach engineer said that my speed should increase over the next few hours and days but my installation was at 11am and I've bearly seen a increase of less than 1 or 2MBs.
      Mine went full speed straight away. Do you no what your sync speeds are on your router?

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    5. #24
      Laprion's Avatar
      Laprion is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SMBT
      Broadband ISP: SBUF From 1st May
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2011
      Posts
      224
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      really good

      01 May, 2012 09:49:39 37888 Kbps 1644 Kbps

      old
      [URL=http://www.speedtest.net/result/1923444745.png[/URL]
      Sky User Speed Tester - 30 April, 2012 08:54:22 - 2176 Kbps - 637 Kbps

    6. #25
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by dankargo View Post
      Here's mine, I have quite a low ping. is that good or bad?

      Very good my friend. Mine at the lowest test was 15ms. Yours is great. The lower the better.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    7. #26
      TomEarnie's Avatar
      TomEarnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      Mine went full speed straight away. Do you no what your sync speeds are on your router?

      Sent from my ST18i
      Sorry,I'm new to this what are sync speeds?

    8. #27
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      8ms - Nice!

    9. #28
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by TomEarnie View Post
      Sorry,I'm new to this what are sync speeds?
      No problem. Go on to your web browser and type 192.168.0.1 in to the address bar. When the login details come up type in admin then sky as the password. That will bring you to your router page. All your statistics will be there under maintenance I think including you sync speed which is what speed your router is receiving.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    10. #29
      gfsracing's Avatar
      gfsracing is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: worksop
      Broadband ISP: Base
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      my router is showing 39998 dl and 2000 uload speed but on speed checkers using a wired connection on my 1 week old works laptop it only shows 32 on speedtest

      on 2 yr old laptop wireless N only showing 28mb, whats wrong why cant i get 38mb like everyone else

      Engineer said house further up road got 38mb

    11. #30
      TomEarnie's Avatar
      TomEarnie is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New Installs show us your Speed

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      No problem. Go on to your web browser and type 192.168.0.1 in to the address bar. When the login details come up type in admin then sky as the password. That will bring you to your router page. All your statistics will be there under maintenance I think including you sync speed which is what speed your router is receiving.

      Sent from my ST18i
      This?

      DownStream Connection Speed 39992 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 2000 kbps

      Or the router stats table?

     

     
    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION