Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 53
    Like Tree6Likes

    BTO Modem Hacking

    This is a discussion on BTO Modem Hacking within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I get 39999kbps and 1999kbps So get the full what I was predicted but was hoping it was being conservative! ...

    1. #41
      Richyr10's Avatar
      Richyr10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Congleton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      I get 39999kbps and 1999kbps
      So get the full what I was predicted but was hoping it was being conservative! ahwell
      Thanks for your help guys!


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      Richyr10's Avatar
      Richyr10 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Congleton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      I heard there was a way to slightly improve the ping by disabling something is this true?


      Downstream Upstream
      Attainable rate (kbit/s) 41492 8765
      SNR margin (dB) 6.8 21

    4. #43
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      possibly, you can get your upload improved. to do this turn OFF QOS.

      it is on the left side of the modem page, click it, then untick the box to the right
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    5. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Richyr10 (27-04-12)

    6. #44
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      For the clarity of anyone picking up this post at a later date, the author of the PDF has used an abbreviation that I think is for "Network Interface Connector". In other words, this is your LAN Port on your computer.

      Depending on which Operating System you have installed on your computer, the exact instructions will vary. A simple search will help, but here are a couple of guides for common OSes:

      Network configuration for Windows XP

      Change TCP/IP settings

      Configure TCP/IP In Vista

      In the guide it is recommend to use the IP Address 192.168.1.100. The other required details are:

      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1

      The following will work and are easy to remember, but it you already have them set to something else, then leave it set:

      DNS Server: (Primary) 8.8.8.8
      (Secondary) 8.8.4.4

      Remember to undo all these changes once you have completed this task.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #45
      BattFink's Avatar
      BattFink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDBRGSS
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 80/20
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      There really isn't any need to configure DNS addresses or a default gateway address as the traffic is all local based & direct to IP (e.g. no name resolution needed)

      Without trying to insult anyone, I would really question the need to "unlock" the modem's firmware if you're not already familiar with basic IP networking. It's probably best to work on the principle "If it works, don't fix it" as you don't get any functionality benefit from unlocking the modem.
      andrewjr and gorebrush like this.

    8. #46
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      For the clarity of anyone picking up this post at a later date, the author of the PDF has used an abbreviation that I think is for "Network Interface Connector". In other words, this is your LAN Port on your computer.

      Depending on which Operating System you have installed on your computer, the exact instructions will vary. A simple search will help, but here are a couple of guides for common OSes:

      Network configuration for Windows XP

      Change TCP/IP settings

      Configure TCP/IP In Vista

      In the guide it is recommend to use the IP Address 192.168.1.100. The other required details are:

      Subnet Mask: 255.255.255.0
      Default Gateway: 192.168.1.1

      The following will work and are easy to remember, but it you already have them set to something else, then leave it set:

      DNS Server: (Primary) 8.8.8.8
      (Secondary) 8.8.4.4

      Remember to undo all these changes once you have completed this task.
      NIC = Network Interface Controller or Network Interface Card, so you are right the LAN port

      when I connect to my modem using my mac I just input the ip address (192.168.1.100) and subnet mask (255.255.255.0) I leave everything else blank and it works haven't tried it on a windows PC and can't connect it up to try it as my colleague has borrowed my crimp tool and my spare Cat5e.

      also I'm not sure if anyone else has noted but the modem can also be used as a router but as standard it is in bridge mode.
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    9. The Following User Says Thank You to andrewjr For This Useful Post:

      Scubbie (27-04-12)

    10. #47
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      When I wired up a Windows laptop, I did the same, IP and subnet only, that's all you need (Irrespective of OS)

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to gorebrush For This Useful Post:

      andrewjr (27-04-12)

    12. #48
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      When I wired up a Windows laptop, I did the same, IP and subnet only, that's all you need (Irrespective of OS)
      there you go all cleared up
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    13. #49
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Windows XP will insist that you put in details for a DNS Server. Leaving it blank is not an option.

      I'm not sure about Vista, but I think Win 7 does too.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    14. #50
      BattFink's Avatar
      BattFink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDBRGSS
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 80/20
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      I've setup multiple XP machines on a test network without any DNS settings, Windows 7 works fine without as well (assuming you refer to the other machines by IP address)

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION