Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 53
    Like Tree6Likes

    BTO Modem Hacking

    This is a discussion on BTO Modem Hacking within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; PM sent....

    1. #21
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      PM sent.
      Mystic Eddy likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Yes I can upload them.

    4. #23
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      My modem is a "3B" revision (there is a 3B on the box)

      Still assume it is safe to attempt an unlock then?

    5. #24
      BattFink's Avatar
      BattFink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDBRGSS
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 80/20
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      My modem is a "3B" revision (there is a 3B on the box)

      Still assume it is safe to attempt an unlock then?
      Yeah you should be fine (same version as mine)

    6. #25
      David76's Avatar
      David76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Quote Originally Posted by BattFink View Post
      http://www65.zippyshare.com/v/60652173/file.html

      Check your modem version first (I've got a HG612 v3B)

      Obviously, files are for education purposes & used at you're own risk
      just tried this now with the modem that was installed this morning. i have the v3B and it worked superbly. many thanks
      Last edited by David76; 26-04-12 at 01:29 PM. Reason: typo

    7. #26
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Good news, I'll do mine in a minute then.

    8. #27
      David76's Avatar
      David76 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      69
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      BTO Modem Hacking-skf.jpg
      a working screenshot

    9. #28
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Just done mine, BT man was fibbing, however: -

      Attainable rate (kbit/s) Down 79884 Up 24506

      Still, looks like I'll get the full 80 on 80/20, and that's much better than the 52 I was estimated!

      Maybe he meant 103Mb in total, 79+24 = 103...

      Also, I've had a thought. I have my old Sky router now sitting around doing nothing. It would be nice to be able to get access to the BT modem once in a while. I'm wondering the following: -

      BT Modem is 192.168.1.x/24
      Set old Sky router up on 192.168.1.2/24 and broadcast wireless on different channel to my main Sky setup.

      I can then use a laptop to get to the BT modem over wireless. Genius.

    10. #29
      BattFink's Avatar
      BattFink is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SDBRGSS
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 80/20
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Seems a little over the top just have a separate SSID for the modem

      I just changed the LAN IP address of port 2 on the modem to one that's in the same subnet of my network, then just plugged both ports into my router.

    11. The Following User Says Thank You to BattFink For This Useful Post:

      gorebrush (26-04-12)

    12. #30
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: BTO Modem Hacking

      Quote Originally Posted by BattFink View Post
      Seems a little over the top just have a separate SSID for the modem

      I just changed the LAN IP address of port 2 on the modem to one that's in the same subnet of my network, then just plugged both ports into my router.
      You know, I just didn't think that would work!

     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION