Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 111
    Like Tree8Likes

    Parcel Force

    This is a discussion on Parcel Force within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Well yeah, why bother sending out new modems when they could just pipe down the FW? I mean, I'm using ...

    1. #41
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Parcel Force

      Well yeah, why bother sending out new modems when they could just pipe down the FW?

      I mean, I'm using my "Fibre Router" on my DSL line.......... /shrug


    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Parcel Force

      I wonder if anyone who has a fibre version of the modem, as well as the ADSL version, could check the disc (if it came with one) and if there is a FW on it, try upgrading the ADSL version, to see what happens.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #43
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Go to your delivery office. Make sure you have your delivery ref number and ask to speak to the manager. They will come and speak to you. Ask for the information about where the item was scanned. If it wasn't scanned at you address, they will no something is up. At least you you can tell sky whats happened and they can send another router as quick as possible if they no it's gone missing.

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

    5. #44
      Restorer's Avatar
      Restorer is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      362
      Thanks
      30
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Parcel Force

      Quote Originally Posted by W2S View Post
      had the same thing this morning text at 8.00am saying their delivering it today and then a text at 10.56 to say it had been delivered but no ring at the door?

      Then a 12.30 I hear a ring at the door and it's the postie with my router
      I got an early morning text to say they would "attempt to deliver today". It arrived lunchtime and I got another text to say it had been delivered before the guy got down the drive!

      However, I was a bit surprised they did not require a signature.

    6. #45
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Parcel Force

      Yeah, I just got handed a router as well, no signature required - which for means seems to defeat the purpose of having it tracked in the first place.

    7. #46
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Parcel Force

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I wonder if anyone who has a fibre version of the modem, as well as the ADSL version, could check the disc (if it came with one) and if there is a FW on it, try upgrading the ADSL version, to see what happens.
      I was asked what router I had when placing my order because if I had "the latest one" they'd upgrade it ready for fibre so it's not like it's an impossible feat.
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    8. #47
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Parcel Force

      Quote Originally Posted by Mystic Eddy View Post
      I was asked what router I had when placing my order because if I had "the latest one" they'd upgrade it ready for fibre so it's not like it's an impossible feat.
      I guess the OP can ask Sky to do this then if the router does not turn up.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    9. #48
      Mystic Eddy's Avatar
      Mystic Eddy is offline Sky User Beta tester
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Apple AirPort ac Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      341
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 17 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Parcel Force

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      I guess the OP can ask Sky to do this then if the router does not turn up.
      Let's hope so .
      I Used To Have An Open Mind, But My Brain Kept Falling Out


    10. #49
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      354
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Parcel Force

      That would be great if they could do this, I'll give them a call tonight to request this and let you all know what happens

    11. #50
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      452
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
      My first router was never delivered,Sky believe it was stolen by Royal Mail staff, Sky sent me a second one which I actually received

     

     
    Page 5 of 12 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION