Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12
    Results 11 to 18 of 18
    Like Tree1Likes

    Trying to order fibre line/number issue….

    This is a discussion on Trying to order fibre line/number issue…. within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; It was a test with just five numbers, mine was the first to be put in. Still waiting for the ...

    1. #11
      mikelane's Avatar
      mikelane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinner
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Pinner
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      It was a test with just five numbers, mine was the first to be put in. Still waiting for the outcome as they are trying to see if they can waive the installation fee which I had been told on two occasions was free.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      mikelane's Avatar
      mikelane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinner
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Pinner
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Well my faith in Sky is restored. Jodie the Sky Fibre lady rang me back at 5pm as promised and proceeded to place the order which went through this time. So, I guess that the double-porting issue was sorted out in the test. And for another tenner a month, I have opted for the Pro version. Installation is late June. Hooray and thanks Sky.
      Scubbie likes this.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to mikelane For This Useful Post:

      JMF1 (08-06-12)

    5. #13
      JMF1's Avatar
      JMF1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tunbridge Wells
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Congratulations, what a result!

      I assume it was the fibre team you spoke to?

      Right then, straight on the phone to Sky then.

    6. #14
      mikelane's Avatar
      mikelane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinner
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Pinner
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Good luck

    7. #15
      JMF1's Avatar
      JMF1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tunbridge Wells
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Success!!! A little earlier I got off the phone to a very nice lady called Beth from the fibre department and managed to complete an order for fibre. Install date booked for the 26th/June.
      Apparently there is a £50 install fee for all orders now, obviously I questioned this and was told that the system had a fault before, as of now any orders placed will have an install charge but because I have been desperately trying to order fibre since April she waved the charge

    8. #16
      JMF1's Avatar
      JMF1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tunbridge Wells
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Netgear V2 DG934G
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Posts
      5
      Thanks
      8
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Thanks again mikelane for the heads up on the testing info.

    9. #17
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,249
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,242 Times in 2,105 Posts

      Re: Trying to order fibre line/number issue….

      I don't think that there was a fault. I think that BTO may have been offering discounts of free installations.

      However, I hope that Sky will be offering free installations again by the time my area can be connected.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #18
      mikelane's Avatar
      mikelane is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Pinner
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max
      Router: Sky Q Hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q
      Join Date
      Jun 2007
      Location
      Pinner
      Posts
      116
      Thanks
      10
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      I too finally got a free install but to achieve it she had to charge me and then credit the credit card. Glad you got it sorted out.

     

     
    Page 2 of 2 FirstFirst 12

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION