Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Poll: Would You Take Sky Fibre Pro If Available?

    Page 6 of 63 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 621
    Like Tree133Likes

    Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; What if "pro" came with a better router, gigabit ports, full wireless n?...

    1. #51
      Efc1888's Avatar
      Efc1888 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Connahs Quay WNDEE
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Connahs Quay
      Posts
      37
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      What if "pro" came with a better router, gigabit ports, full wireless n?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      reddwarfcrew's Avatar
      reddwarfcrew is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      6,088
      Thanks
      32
      Thanked 93 Times in 86 Posts

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by Efc1888 View Post
      What if "pro" came with a better router, gigabit ports, full wireless n?
      1 - there are strong rumours that sky will allow you to use your own router
      2 - you can pretty much use your own router any way
      3 - that's a very expensive router you'd be funding

    4. #53
      Gadget.man's Avatar
      Gadget.man is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 01226
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      34
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Although i can't be certain as the sky broadband checker is down i think with being so close to the fibre cabinet i'd get almost the full 80mb speed bump. i can't see any reason at the moment in upgrading to pro i'd like to see how the basic fibre works before even considering moving to the higher tariff.

    5. #54
      dexteryout's Avatar
      dexteryout is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      London
      Posts
      6
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Just went to bt to check what speed they are offering and it's telling me 80/20 so sky should be able to do the same ?

    6. #55
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by reddwarfcrew View Post
      1 - there are strong rumours that sky will allow you to use your own router
      2 - you can pretty much use your own router any way
      3 - that's a very expensive router you'd be funding
      Except that only Billion has so far released a firmware upgrade (for one particular model) that will work with Sky's particular implementation of MER!
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    7. #56
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      Except that only Billion has so far released a firmware upgrade (for one particular model) that will work with Sky's particular implementation of MER!
      That is for an ADSL router. The rumours are suggesting that Sky are looking to set up something so that some people on the faster Fibre product can use their own non-router. We have some information, but for now the method of connection needs to be confirmed, as does whether Sky will do this. We understand that some in-house testing is happening now.

      Personally I would love Sky to open up all their Fibre connections to any Cable router. They claim to only do it in order to support their routers, but frankly the moment you ask about simple things such as Port Forwarding they don't support you.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      speedyrite (21-04-12)

    9. #57
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      That is for an ADSL router.
      Thanks, I sit corrected...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    10. #58
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      But anyway it seems to be a slight dis-advantage (compared to what other fttc providers supply) for the customer to be stuck with a router that only has 3 useable LAN ports.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    11. #59
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by speedyrite View Post
      But anyway it seems to be a slight dis-advantage (compared to what other fttc providers supply) for the customer to be stuck with a router that only has 3 useable LAN ports.
      I am not defending the lack of a port on the Sky router. Cost wise it made sense to utilise one of the ports. With a little bit of pre-planning though, the Sagem 2504N could of had a dedicated WAN LAN port from when it was released. The BT HomeHub 3 has this arrangement, along with the ADSL socket.


      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    12. #60
      slickric21's Avatar
      slickric21 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Eacos
      Broadband ISP: Plusnet Fibre
      Router: Netgear 3800 DD-WRT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jun 2009
      Posts
      204
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 3 Times in 2 Posts

      re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      That is for an ADSL router. The rumours are suggesting that Sky are looking to set up something so that some people on the faster Fibre product can use their own non-router. We have some information, but for now the method of connection needs to be confirmed, as does whether Sky will do this. We understand that some in-house testing is happening now.

      Personally I would love Sky to open up all their Fibre connections to any Cable router. They claim to only do it in order to support their routers, but frankly the moment you ask about simple things such as Port Forwarding they don't support you.
      Which one is it btw ?

      I've got a 7402nx that i'd love to carry on using.
      Its got an EWAN port, and according to Billion its compatible with Fibre
      stated
      here


      I know it does PPPoE and it also has the option for MAC spoofing..... Hope it can work with SBFU when I get it in June apparently.

     

     
    Page 6 of 63 FirstFirst ... 456781656 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION