Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Poll: Would You Take Sky Fibre Pro If Available?

    Page 46 of 63 FirstFirst ... 36444546474856 ... LastLast
    Results 451 to 460 of 621
    Like Tree133Likes

    Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've been looking for a more detailed answer to this question and you've explained it well. Thanks scubbie. Sent from ...

    1. #451
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      I've been looking for a more detailed answer to this question and you've explained it well. Thanks scubbie.



      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #452
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Ahh ofcause, its easy to get caught up on all the fiber hype and forget about the remaining copper side of things which would still be prone to crosstalk and we must not forget that whilst all the focus is initially put on the new fiber cab and it getting more and more connections, all those new connections originate from and route the new VDSL signal through the old PCP cab before heading back to the properties so i guess as more people switch to VDSL its not so much the number of connections at the fiber cab but the extra VDSL signals routing through the PCP causing interference and dropping peoples attainable data rates. I guess only when we move into FTTP will this stop being an issue.

    4. #453
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by Moxey View Post
      Ahh ofcause, its easy to get caught up on all the fiber hype and forget about the remaining copper side of things which would still be prone to crosstalk and we must not forget that whilst all the focus is initially put on the new fiber cab and it getting more and more connections, all those new connections originate from and route the new VDSL signal through the old PCP cab before heading back to the properties so i guess as more people switch to VDSL its not so much the number of connections at the fiber cab but the extra VDSL signals routing through the PCP causing interference and dropping peoples attainable data rates. I guess only when we move into FTTP will this stop being an issue.
      Your spot on.

      If I was to get fibre pro I would have to go by my quoted speed rather than my max attainable speed people see when they hack their modems and see their stats.

      No way would I jump on board now and then watch my speeds decrease over time If I wasn't quoted in the high 60s or above.

      A fair few people are going to be upset over this, but better to find out now than later.
      With sky since 1997.

    5. #454
      paul Richards's Avatar
      paul Richards is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: THBW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      I'm not jealous at all, really, I'm not.
      Well I can confirm the upgrade took place over night, had to restart the Modem for it to change but so far so good.

    6. #455
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by paul Richards View Post
      Well I can confirm the upgrade took place over night, had to restart the Modem for it to change but so far so good.
      How did you get it as an upgrade when nobody else can?


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    7. #456
      paul Richards's Avatar
      paul Richards is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: THBW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      How did you get it as an upgrade when nobody else can?
      kept calling everyday, also emailed the Executive team as obviously if they can upgrade the staff services to 80/20 they can do it for customers as well.

    8. #457
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by paul Richards View Post
      kept calling everyday, also emailed the Executive team as obviously if they can upgrade the staff services to 80/20 they can do it for customers as well.
      I thought I was persistent trying to get normal SFU early. Nice one. What speeds are you achieving ?
      With sky since 1997.

    9. #458
      paul Richards's Avatar
      paul Richards is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: THBW
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      25
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      Quote Originally Posted by Fryingpan77 View Post
      I thought I was persistent trying to get normal SFU early. Nice one. What speeds are you achieving ?
      Tried several servers but won't go above that, but bbmax test gets full speed and so do several others.
      http://www.speedtest.bbmax.co.uk/res...021&v=15958033


    10. #459
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro Rumour

      speedtest is sh**


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    11. #460
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts
      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      speedtest is sh**
      Speed test is sh.............showing signs of strain was you gunna put ?

      Sent from my ST18i
      With sky since 1997.

     

     
    Page 46 of 63 FirstFirst ... 36444546474856 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION