Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 59
    Like Tree4Likes

    can i get the full 40mb?

    This is a discussion on can i get the full 40mb? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi i sign ed up for fibre both sky test and bt infinity speedtest said I could get 40mb GUARANTEED ...

    1. #1
      shakey1980's Avatar
      shakey1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Brancepeth NENP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      can i get the full 40mb?

      Hi i sign ed up for fibre both sky test and bt infinity speedtest said I could get 40mb GUARANTEED is this correct my corrent conection is ******** if more than 1 device is using it and also if the socket need moving for any other reason is it free or change as ive picked standard install.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      OK after deciphering your post....

      1. Yes, if the BT checker says you can get 40, you should be good for 40 on Sky
      2. If you do decide to order SBUF, the BT engineer who comes out will move your socket for you

      Hope that helps.

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to gorebrush For This Useful Post:

      shakey1980 (18-04-12)

    5. #3
      shakey1980's Avatar
      shakey1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Brancepeth NENP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      OK after deciphering your post....

      1. Yes, if the BT checker says you can get 40, you should be good for 40 on Sky
      2. If you do decide to order SBUF, the BT engineer who comes out will move your socket for you

      Hope that helps.
      thank you sorry about post being so untidy if a sagam fast (not n version ) and bt guy bring openreach modem after he gone do i send my old router back to sky

    6. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      after he gone do i send my old router back to sky
      No - Not normally.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    7. #5
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      I was going to keep mine for "experimentation" purposes

    8. #6
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      ye, I think you can normally keep the old sky router...as you could re-flash the firmware for use of another internet provider. or if not, sell it on ebay cheap after you know your fibre connection is good to go, after testing & stuff...

      Or give it to another member of your family, if they want to use sky bb...

    9. #7
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      thank you sorry about post being so untidy if a sagam fast (not n version ) and bt guy bring openreach modem after he gone do i send my old router back to sky
      You don't connect to the BTO Modem, Sky will send you a new router which will be connected to it by the BTO engineer, who will site it to suit you,(within reason). You can dispose of the old router as you wish.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #8
      shakey1980's Avatar
      shakey1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Brancepeth NENP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      You don't connect to the BTO Modem, Sky will send you a new router which will be connected to it by the BTO engineer, who will site it to suit you,(within reason). You can dispose of the old router as you wish.
      can you explain this diagram then Sky Broadband | Set up your Sky wireless router (fibre) was under the impression that you got a N router with updated firmware and then bt openreach came installed a openreach router then you would connect the N router to the back of that ?

    11. #9
      W2S's Avatar
      W2S
      W2S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      Good to know as have two routers from sky and they didn't take back the spare after iI told them.

      could do with a wireless network for the garden? if anyone needs a spare sky router after I get fibre they can have if for Free

    12. #10
      W2S's Avatar
      W2S
      W2S is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      31
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 3 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: can i get the full 40mb?

      Quote Originally Posted by shakey1980 View Post
      can you explain this diagram then Sky Broadband | Set up your Sky wireless router (fibre) was under the impression that you got a N router with updated firmware and then bt openreach came installed a openreach router then you would connect the N router to the back of that ?
      the bt part is a Modem and not a router that were sky router comes in

     

     
    Page 1 of 6 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION