Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 50 of 65 FirstFirst ... 40484950515260 ... LastLast
    Results 491 to 500 of 642
    Like Tree66Likes

    1 more sleep...

    This is a discussion on 1 more sleep... within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Marvelous. Max attainable rate according to hacked OR modem is just over 100meg, BT engineer said line length was less ...

    1. #491
      nijohc's Avatar
      nijohc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Halifax
      Posts
      94
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...



      Marvelous.

      Max attainable rate according to hacked OR modem is just over 100meg, BT engineer said line length was less than 40 meters to the cabinet.
      jayhab and Fryingpan77 like this.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #492
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      The reason it's setup the way it is - the Sky router will have hardcoded an address to the port ready for the BTO Modem and will be expecting to pipe traffic down it for the internet.

      If you plug it in elsewhere, then the Sky router won't recognise this and assume it is just another ordinary device to be sending packets to.

    4. #493
      edwardandtubs's Avatar
      edwardandtubs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      Quote Originally Posted by Laprion View Post
      i can't do any test yet but others could if they just change the port and reboot the router see how long it take to get the cable connection on each port and check speed to see if it makes any difference
      I'll give this a try later, am supposed to be working from home so don't want to have to keep logging on to the VPN after every reboot...

    5. #494
      edwardandtubs's Avatar
      edwardandtubs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Glossop
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2007
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      The reason it's setup the way it is - the Sky router will have hardcoded an address to the port ready for the BTO Modem and will be expecting to pipe traffic down it for the internet.

      If you plug it in elsewhere, then the Sky router won't recognise this and assume it is just another ordinary device to be sending packets to.
      mines currently plugged into the blue port and seems to be working ok

    6. #495
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      That is a WiFi n card, but I can't see what speed it supports. I would suggest that it will connect at no more than 72mbps on the Sagem 2504N based on the fact that many Win 7 Laptops sold last summer only connected at up to 150mbps on paired channels and 72mbps on a single channel.

      If you are interested, it is often easy to change the WiFi card but there are two sizes. You must ensure you know which size you have before ordering.

      Atheros AR5B91 11bgn PCIe Mini-Card Reference Design

      Check out this thread too:

      Atheros AR5B91 does not connect in 11N mode. - Tech Support Guy Forums

      When I upgraded a friend's Athros Laptop (different model) I found some great instructions on the web that helped me to find the correct way to remove the cover underneath.
      dankargo likes this.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #496
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      seems that...

      i had an email from sky...saying missed appointment reason: could not access property. Engineer turned up at 12:13am, but not at my door, as I would of heard the door knock!

      right....so just rang sky... they say that the engineer was given the wrong number to contact me...and the incorrect address was given...and sky have confirmed it is the correct address, and I have given the correct contact number...and because of this...sky have had to re-schedule the installation..as far back as 14th may!!!!!!!!!! another 17 days time...sigh...

    8. #497
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      Quote Originally Posted by edwardandtubs View Post
      mines currently plugged into the blue port and seems to be working ok
      Move it over. It caused me no end of grief


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    9. #498
      follybridgeinn's Avatar
      follybridgeinn is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Blackwood
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Location
      Pontllanfraith, Blackwood
      Posts
      10
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      Similar here...........No Fibre install for me either.... just rang SKY again as we still have not had a phone call or visit (should be between 8 - 1 27/04/2012) and after waiting 15mins was informed that we should have had an email or letter to say that the date had been changed to 01/05/2012.....

      Not a happy bunny......Lost a days pay and gotta take another day off on tuesday to wait in again, on top of this still slow speeds.. Not A Happy Bunny

    10. #499
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      Blackwood, only 8 miles south of my old stomping ground!

    11. #500
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      re: 1 more sleep...

      Quote Originally Posted by jdsimp1234 View Post
      seems that...

      i had an email from sky...saying missed appointment reason: could not access property. Engineer turned up at 12:13am, but not at my door, as I would of heard the door knock!

      right....so just rang sky... they say that the engineer was given the wrong number to contact me...and the incorrect address was given...and sky have confirmed it is the correct address, and I have given the correct contact number...and because of this...sky have had to re-schedule the installation..as far back as 14th may!!!!!!!!!! another 17 days time...sigh...
      Whoops, how have they got incorrect numbers and address details?

      The router came to the right address. I'd be going absolutely bonkers at Sky now - and get them to be going absolutely bonkers towards BT.

     

     
    Page 50 of 65 FirstFirst ... 40484950515260 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION