Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree1Likes
    • 1 Post By dmobs

    Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

    This is a discussion on Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; I've had fibre availible in my area for a while with BT offering me their serivce. I waited for SKY's ...

    1. #1
      thedon_1's Avatar
      thedon_1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Mar 2008
      Posts
      43
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      I've had fibre availible in my area for a while with BT offering me their serivce. I waited for SKY's laucnh and checked on the website to see if it was availible in my area and it was and it added the product into my basket.

      I phoned Sky as I need to move my phone line with them and so wanted to confirm a few things such as porting my number etc. I told the person on the phone I want fibre too and they said it's not availible in my area.

      Is this a problem with the site telling me I can get it or an employee fobbing me off? Is this a common issue?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      dmobs's Avatar
      dmobs is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: smpen
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      from what I understand, not all staff are fully train on the fibre package yet. if you can do it all online do it there. otherwise if you wish to speak to a person giveit a few hours and call back, you may get a different call center with better info
      gorebrush likes this.

    4. #3
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      Pretty much what dmobs said.

      I was told that ordering over the telephone wouldn't be until after the 27th..

    5. #4
      shakey1980's Avatar
      shakey1980 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: New Brancepeth NENP
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2011
      Location
      North East
      Posts
      192
      Thanks
      18
      Thanked 10 Times in 10 Posts

      Re: Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      make sure the agent on the phone checks the full number plus area code i was told the same untill i told him that it was available via bt so he rechecked whole number and came back and said yes if he still says it not available advise him of the exchange your on use the exchange checker or bt wholesale checker to find it

    6. #5
      Lloytron's Avatar
      Lloytron is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Nov 2007
      Posts
      12
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      I checked the website and saw fibre was in my area (and inside I went whoo hooo!). I wanted to chang emy movies package so I rang them up, changed the package and I asked if I could get fibre. I'm not sure what happened but the lady I was speaking with (Who was incredibly nice and helpful, and knew what she was talking about) seemed to be having a problem with looking up fibre availability in my area.

      SO I told her not to worry and then did it online. I guess the website is the place to go as it seemed the tools for the call centre weren't working properly.

    7. #6
      terryf's Avatar
      terryf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: retford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      My exchange was scheduled for end of March, when we got to end of March they changed it to end of June.
      Today I see my exchange is accepting orders.
      Rang sky spoke to very nice Welshman who went through a lot of checks and said "it's not ready yet, sorry".
      It seems Sky are about a week behind BTO.
      But I am closer to having fibre than June for which I am thankful.
      Terry

    8. #7
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      Quote Originally Posted by terryf View Post
      My exchange was scheduled for end of March, when we got to end of March they changed it to end of June.
      Today I see my exchange is accepting orders.
      Rang sky spoke to very nice Welshman who went through a lot of checks and said "it's not ready yet, sorry".
      It seems Sky are about a week behind BTO.
      But I am closer to having fibre than June for which I am thankful.
      Terry
      it might be just that your cabinet it's done... what happens when you do a check for BT Infinity?

    9. #8
      Flatty's Avatar
      Flatty is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: LNLOU
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      9
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      I rang Sky on the 11th April and they told me it was not available in my area. I then ordered it online the next day and had it installed 3 days ago. In other words you might as well go and have a conversation with a brick wall rather than talk to a Sky advisor. You’ll get a better response!!

    10. #9
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: Internet says I can get it, Sky on the phone say I can't

      Sky are constantly updating their systems at the moment. A lot of people found conflicting information depending on how they attempted to order SFU around 11th April.

      I have heard that the systems are being updated on a daily basis.

      As for the equipment in the exchanges, again this will be a continuous updating cycle and gradually more areas will find that they have been upgraded to support SFU and SFUP.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION