Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Results 1 to 9 of 9
    Like Tree3Likes
    • 1 Post By NewsreadeR
    • 2 Post By fazedup

    Fibre Router

    This is a discussion on Fibre Router within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hey I know the FAQ says that people have had problem using non sky router connect to the BTO modem ...

    1. #1
      Damo82's Avatar
      Damo82 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: HD+ Litmited Ed
      Join Date
      Dec 2009
      Posts
      197
      Thanks
      9
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Fibre Router

      Hey I know the FAQ says that people have had problem using non sky router connect to the BTO modem as they now using MER. But has anyone luck just by passing the router by the likes of cloning the mac adress or such other ways I am using a DD WRT router atm connected to the sky adsl router and DMZed

      Cheers


      Damien


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Fibre Router

      No one has managed it so far, with complete success.

      Although there is this development.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/techn...w-working.html
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    4. #3
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      354
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Fibre Router

      I just had a thought, who would you have to contact if the Openreach Fibre modem broke down or was faulty? I imagine its not Sky's responsibility as they aren't sending out that router, the engineer brings it during the install.

    5. #4
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Fibre Router

      Quote Originally Posted by dankargo View Post
      I just had a thought, who would you have to contact if the Openreach Fibre modem broke down or was faulty? I imagine its not Sky's responsibility as they aren't sending out that router, the engineer brings it during the install.

      You would ring Sky who I guess would book BT to call out.
      dankargo likes this.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    6. #5
      dankargo's Avatar
      dankargo is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Romford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2011
      Location
      Romford
      Posts
      354
      Thanks
      31
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Fibre Router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      You would ring Sky who I guess would book BT to call out.
      Thanks I've had 3 routers fail on me before so if the situation ever occured I'll know what to do. Especially as we have little ones running about who are at this mischievous age and love to play around with any kind of gadget they can get their hands on

    7. #6
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Fibre Router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      You would ring Sky who I guess would book BT to call out.
      Indeed. Direct contact with BTO is like chasing the Holy Grail.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    8. #7
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Fibre Router

      Quote Originally Posted by dankargo View Post
      Especially as we have little ones running about who are at this mischievous age and love to play around with any kind of gadget they can get their hands on
      I tell my 4 year old daughter, it's the special box that we use to send our Christmas lists to Santa! Never had a problem since
      dankargo and paulkerdot like this.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    9. #8
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Fibre Router

      Its a good job they don't make video recorders anymore, we always had to shake them until the pennies fell out.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    10. #9
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Fibre Router

      Quote Originally Posted by NewsreadeR View Post
      Its a good job they don't make video recorders anymore, we always had to shake them until the pennies fell out.
      ....that, or a sandwich!


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

     

     

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION