Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 49
    Like Tree11Likes

    i wonder...

    This is a discussion on i wonder... within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Couldn't care less for fast uploads. I don't use P2P. I do remotely connect over SSH though but that requires ...

    1. #11
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      Couldn't care less for fast uploads. I don't use P2P.

      I do remotely connect over SSH though but that requires hardly any bandwidth. Considering I have 1Mb upload now, I'm getting that doubled! Maybe I could use Remote Desktop with ease now. (though have to say it's pretty good as is)


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      Upload speed is not just about a quick upload. If you have a house full of people all using the internet at the same time then it is important, if you are all streaming and someone is trying to push something outward then it will affect your download speed

    4. #13
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      Yes I appreciate that, but I still don't think it's a deal breaker to be honest. For the kind of usage my household has a slow upload shouldn't be too much of a problem.

      Though it would have been nice to get the 10Mbit upload, I am sure it will come in time. Let's leave Sky to deal with all the rush of upgrades and getting people on first
      speedyrite likes this.

    5. #14
      NWLondoner's Avatar
      NWLondoner is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Colindale
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      London
      Posts
      113
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      I wonder if us sky fibre users will get a larger selection of HD material on anytime+

    6. #15
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      Geee Whiz I only asked is all, i don't do any p2p either for that matter as I though the 2Mb up was being phased out.
      iechyd da

    7. #16
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      Sky is doing 2Mb upload speed?
      iechyd da
      Yep!

      ...and they don't throttle you during the weekends like now , irrespective of what you do.

      Anyway, it is a free market and I am sure that, like with previous new products, we shall see over time which is the better product. In the mean time BT Infinity does have the headline speed over Sky, but then VM has a faster headline speed.

      In the mean time we all know that both their respective backhauls are overloaded. When Sky has had issues with their backhaul becoming overloaded, they have been able to fix it within a few months.

      Personally speaking no one at Sky has ever treated me in such a nasty fashion as I was treated by BT India. I personally will never go back to them.

      I have lived and worked abroad and I do appreciate the difference between how the British like to be treated and how they are treated by other countries. I treat all people as I would expect them to deal with me, i.e. without prejudice and with honesty. I also appreciate the difference between being able to speak English and understanding the context of a conversation. This is why I personally no longer like dealing with many call centres in other countries, be they in Cairo, Mumbai or Dallas.
      speedyrite, fazedup and launton like this.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    8. #17
      jdsimp1234's Avatar
      jdsimp1234 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SWBNP - Bridgend .South Wales
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Aug 2007
      Location
      Bridgend South Wales area
      Posts
      795
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 5 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      well, considering i don't even get 1mb upload(mine is actually 640/642kbps)....but some broadband speed checkers, say I am getting almost 850-900kbps.... so the 2mb upload isnt much for me but it is enough for most stuff....as i currently own a half-life 2: deathmatch, which i won't be shortly, because I want to change to a Day Of Defeat server(ww2 thirdperson game), i will find uploading just that little quicker, until sky decide to change it to 10mbps....then i'll see a big difference...

      some ftp clients offer SSH2 compression uploading, which means to crunches it while upload(makes uploading quicker)...

    9. #18
      Paul1360's Avatar
      Paul1360 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Llantrisant
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Brynna
      Posts
      371
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 7 Times in 7 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      O dear me I seem to have upset people on here by asking a question which had no meaning or anything. Such is life then.
      iechyd da

    10. #19
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      O dear me I seem to have upset people on here by asking a question which had no meaning or anything. Such is life then.
      iechyd da
      I don't think you've upset anyone, we're all pretty friendly around here, although heated debates are quite common. But it's all good fun.

      In answer to your question, yes, Sky currently offer a 2mb upload. We hope and expect this to increase in the future, but we have no concrete information on when this will occur.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    11. #20
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,254
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: i wonder...

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul1360 View Post
      O dear me I seem to have upset people on here by asking a question which had no meaning or anything. Such is life then.
      iechyd da
      Its probably that speedtest result that is upsetting them more than anything else.
      fazedup likes this.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION