Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 15 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 146
    Like Tree24Likes

    The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

    This is a discussion on The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Forget about the Fibre Cabs, If that's accurate, you won't be able to order an FTTC product from any ISP ...

    1. #41
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

      Forget about the Fibre Cabs, If that's accurate, you won't be able to order an FTTC product from any ISP until your exchange is enabled in September, unfortunately.
      Ipster likes this.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    2. The Following User Says Thank You to fazedup For This Useful Post:

      stevogums (14-04-12)


    3. Advertisement
    4. #42
      stevogums's Avatar
      stevogums is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Huyton
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: ER110
      Sky TV: SKY Q
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Posts
      81
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by fazedup View Post
      Forget about the Fibre Cabs, If that's accurate, you won't be able to order an FTTC product from any ISP until your exchange is enabled in September, unfortunately.
      Thanks for that..
      just looked at few people who are getting availability earlier than enabled date..
      So is it a case of persistence... Regular look ins..

    5. #43
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by stevogums View Post
      Thanks for that..
      just looked at few people who are getting availability earlier than enabled date..
      So is it a case of persistence... Regular look ins..
      You're welcome, although sorry to be the bearer of bad tidings.

      Could well be the case that your exchange is enabled sooner, I know that BT are for once, actually well ahead of schedual with the planned Fibre rollout. Keep an eye, you never know.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    6. #44
      Kempshott's Avatar
      Kempshott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by taurisince1983 View Post
      Can't get sky fibre in Basingstoke (exchange THBZ) it seems.
      Me too so I've just signed up for PlusNet fibre - cheaper than Sky (I can live with the 40GB cap) and install date next Friday.
      I online-messaged Sky for a MAC code and got it withing 5 minutes.
      Kempshott

    7. #45
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by Kempshott View Post
      Me too so I've just signed up for PlusNet fibre - cheaper than Sky (I can live with the 40GB cap) and install date next Friday.
      I online-messaged Sky for a MAC code and got it withing 5 minutes.
      Now see, I don't understand the logic behind being hell bent on ordering Fibre and having it's superior speeds, then being totally restricted by a 40gb cap.

      If you needed the extra speed that Fibre provides, 40gb will be eaten up in no time at all.

      EDIT: Do you even know what your current usage is on Sky BB unlimited?

      EDIT EDIT: Doing a rough calculation, downloading at 4MB/s (I actually max out at around 4.7MB/s), I would use 40gb in less than 3 hours
      Last edited by fazedup; 14-04-12 at 04:51 PM.
      andrewjr, Moxey and steelysteph like this.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    8. #46
      jkhl's Avatar
      jkhl is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Netgear Nighthawk R7000
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 6 Times in 6 Posts
      Not able to order Sky Fibre here...no option on website. Verwood exchange tweeted by BTO to be fibre enabled at the end of March, fibre cabs in place, LLU exchange.
      Guess I just wait until Sky contact me...registered on site weeks ago... :'(
      Sent from my TITAN X310e using Board Express

    9. #47
      Kempshott's Avatar
      Kempshott is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Basingstoke
      Broadband ISP: PlusNet fibre
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Location
      Basingstoke
      Posts
      21
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by fazedup View Post
      Now see, I don't understand the logic behind being hell bent on ordering Fibre and having it's superior speeds, then being totally restricted by a 40gb cap.
      Hardly hell-bent - FTTC has been available from other ISPs here for almost a year. I've waited that long for Sky to announce and there's no way to know if/when they will provide it. I want FTTC because I only get 2Mbps connect at the moment- FTTC should be around 38Mbps.

      We never got close to the 10GB cap when on Sky Mid.
      Even if I need to go up to PlusNet's 120GB package (unlikely) it still works out a bit cheaper because their monthly line rental is about 3 less than Sky if you pay in advance.

      I would happily come back to Sky in the future - never had a problem with their ADSL service.
      Kempshott

    10. #48
      Carlow's Avatar
      Carlow is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Foxhall
      Broadband ISP: Sky Max/Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Jan 2010
      Posts
      35
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 2 Times in 1 Post

      Re: The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

      no FTTC for me yet either..have a feeling i'll be lucky to see it this year, even tho it's "due" in june

    11. #49
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: The Official 'I Can't Get Sky Fibre Yet' thread

      Quote Originally Posted by Kempshott View Post
      Hardly hell-bent - FTTC has been available from other ISPs here for almost a year. I've waited that long for Sky to announce and there's no way to know if/when they will provide it. I want FTTC because I only get 2Mbps connect at the moment- FTTC should be around 38Mbps.

      We never got close to the 10GB cap when on Sky Mid.
      Even if I need to go up to PlusNet's 120GB package (unlikely) it still works out a bit cheaper because their monthly line rental is about 3 less than Sky if you pay in advance.

      I would happily come back to Sky in the future - never had a problem with their ADSL service.
      At the end of the day, it's your pound you're spending.

      In your circumstances, i'd be tempted to hang fire, stick with a cheap service that you know to be reliable and see what pans out of the next 6-8 weeks with Sky Fibre and your exchange.

      The alternative is signing away your Broadband freedom for the next 18 months.

      One thing I will say about bandwidth caps, today's website are far more bandwidth hungry than they were when you were on Sky Mid. Even just general browsing racks up more data than you might imagine. 10GB on Sky Mid, which was quite a while ago doesn't equate to todays usage.

      Anyway, Good luck with Plusnet.
      Last edited by fazedup; 14-04-12 at 07:11 PM. Reason: typos


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    12. #50
      Corywales's Avatar
      Corywales is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: 02920
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post
      I have sky line rental/talk on LLU, my exchange in FTTC, when I called to order yesterday, I got told my line is incompatible, but should try next week as not all the sky online profiles have been not been updated to accept SFBU?? Was I fobbed off? BT have called 3 times offering infinity at 70meg!!

     

     
    Page 5 of 15 FirstFirst ... 34567 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION