Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast
    Results 41 to 50 of 58
    Like Tree3Likes

    Just got the delivery

    This is a discussion on Just got the delivery within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; All done here too, Nice BTO guy was really good: replaced the cable run from the drop box and moved ...

    1. #41
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      All done here too, Nice BTO guy was really good: replaced the cable run from the drop box and moved the Master socket to the living room. Although Sky quoted me 34.8meg when I ordered, very pleasently surprised to get the full 40/2 as we are some 700m from the cabinet! Max attainable is approx 54 down. BTO guy was surprised how much I knew about it all!



    2. Advertisement
    3. #42
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      I always update. believe me, its not a Windows thing


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!

    4. #43
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      just did a speed test now. im getting 28MB?! but it was 37.... ?

      FYI this is what the sky router has always reported all day today:


      Modem Status

      Connected



      DownStream Connection Speed

      39998 kbps



      UpStream Connection Speed

      1999 kbps


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!

    5. #44
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Could you post the specifications of your computer (processor/speed/RAM/OS/LAN speed) and what firewall/s & AV software you are using.

      Also take a look at the Windows Task Manager to see what processes are running in the background and check to see that something isn't hogging the processor.

      If anything is taking too much time, then the speed tests will struggle. If your computer is under specified, then it may be struggling with the software it has installed on it.

      Could you also boot up into Windows Safe Mode, with Networking enabled? Run the Speed Test on this site and post the results. Do not stay in this mode for too long as it is unsecure.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #45
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Thanks.
      trust me, the computer is fine (I work in IT so I know these things). there are no long running or intensive processes at all. This was when it was idle. I did the first speed test after the engineer came to install SFO, then later on this afternoon I did another speedtest and the results varied as you can see.

      I just did another one and still the same result.


      FYI my PC spec (wired)

      Intel Core i7 X990 Extreme Edition @ 3.47GHz
      16GB DDR3 RAM
      Symantec Corp AV/Enterprise
      Windows Firewall
      LAN: 10/100/1000MB

      I think this is sufficient for the spec to post ALL cores of CPU are 0%. not sure why the speed drop


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!

    7. #46
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Quote Originally Posted by firehawk View Post
      Thanks.
      trust me, the computer is fine (I work in IT so I know these things). there are no long running or intensive processes at all. This was when it was idle. I did the first speed test after the engineer came to install SFO, then later on this afternoon I did another speedtest and the results varied as you can see.

      I just did another one and still the same result.


      FYI my PC spec (wired)

      Intel Core i7 X990 Extreme Edition @ 3.47GHz
      16GB DDR3 RAM
      Symantec Corp AV/Enterprise
      Windows Firewall
      LAN: 10/100/1000MB

      I think this is sufficient for the spec to post ALL cores of CPU are 0%. not sure why the speed drop
      Its not your pc then

      silly question that I have asked others in various other threads. the ethernet cable from the modem to the sky router is it plugged into port 1 of the router (the one closest to the power input).

      The reason I ask is another member had it plugged into a different port and this part solved the problem
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    8. #47
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      definately into LAN Port 1


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!

    9. #48
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery



      thats another test now (after PC reboot)


      SKY Fibre Optic pro unlimited!

    10. #49
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      could you try the namesco server in london on speedtest.net, before you do hard reboot the router
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    11. #50
      firehawk's Avatar
      firehawk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+
      Join Date
      Jul 2007
      Posts
      328
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      perfect



      should have thought about that me! such a tough day with other things.... brain tired!


      Question: how does the whole thing work? I mean, they are still using the ADSL type technology no? (Phone line cable). I understand this is FTTC and not FTTP (like VM) but still how can data transfer so fast on such an old infrastracture from the cabinet to the house?

     

     
    Page 5 of 6 FirstFirst ... 3456 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION