Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 58
    Like Tree3Likes

    Just got the delivery

    This is a discussion on Just got the delivery within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hijacking the thread a little ... so if you're a current Sky BB customer you can use any old Sky ...

    1. #21
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Hijacking the thread a little ... so if you're a current Sky BB customer you can use any old Sky router you like (even one of the first Netgear ones) and connect that - via LAN port 1 - to the modem that the BT engineer installs ?

      I also still don't understand how FTTC can offer such high speeds. As I have always understood it, all networks are only as fast as their slowest 'connection'. In the case of FTTC this is the copper wire from the house to the cabinet which can only offer ADSL2 speeds. So where does the speeed increase come from ?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Quote Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
      I also still don't understand how FTTC can offer such high speeds. As I have always understood it, all networks are only as fast as their slowest 'connection'. In the case of FTTC this is the copper wire from the house to the cabinet which can only offer ADSL2 speeds. So where does the speeed increase come from ?
      It's a special kind of techie magic, you don't really need to understand how it works, you just need to believe that it does!
      jayhab and williammorris like this.
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    4. #23
      Moxey's Avatar
      Moxey is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Redditch
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: SkyQ Hub ER110
      Sky TV: SkyQ 2TB + Mini
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      326
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 36 Times in 28 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      You can get much higher speeds from FTTC because the signal is VDSL instead of ADSL and is only limited by the length of copper from your home to your local PCP cab and not from your home through the local PCP cab and then all the way back to the exchange as ADSL currently is.
      The VDSL signal is higher frequency and so capable of much faster initial speed than ADSL but over a much shorter distance as well, VDSL would be very slow or maybe not work at all if it had to travel all the way to the exchange like ADSL does, with FTTC the DSLAM equipment is in the local fiber cab near to your property instead of in the exchange.

    5. #24
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Quote Originally Posted by AdamBrunt View Post
      Hijacking the thread a little ... so if you're a current Sky BB customer you can use any old Sky router you like (even one of the first Netgear ones) and connect that - via LAN port 1 - to the modem that the BT engineer installs ?
      No - Currently only the Sagem 2504N with the firmware specifically for Sky's FTTC service can access Sky's servers via the BTO Modem.

      It is unlikely that the older routers will have a firmware released to support SBUF. However Sky is developing another router and this may also be compatible with SBUF.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    6. #25
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      No - Currently only the Sagem 2504N with the firmware specifically for Sky's FTTC service can access Sky's servers via the BTO Modem.
      It seems the firmware converts the #1 port into a WAN port, so I am wondering if the new firmware for the Billion 7800n will also allow it to connect to Sky Fibre. If it doesn't, I am pretty sure the guys at Billion will soon make it so. It would be a great selling point for them if they are to first in the market to connect successfully to Sky's Fibre.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #26
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Believe in it like you do the fairys..

      DON'T tell me there are no fairys :/

    8. #27
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      Believe in it like you do the fairys..

      DON'T tell me there are no fairys :/
      At the present time, "fairys" are not available in your area. Please register your interest to be kept informed of "fairy" developments. Until then, continue to Believe in the magic...
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    9. #28
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Pedantic observation - there are no 'fairys', only fairies.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    10. #29
      speedyrite's Avatar
      speedyrite is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: MYHGT
      Broadband ISP: NOW Broadband
      Router: NOW TV Hub Two
      Sky TV: NOW TV
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      2,367
      Thanks
      388
      Thanked 160 Times in 154 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      Pedantic observation - there are no 'fairys', only fairies.
      Agreed, but I didn't want to upset the OP by pointing that out
      ++ speedyrite ... powered by NOW Broadband from June 2018 ++
      (previously powered by Sky Broadband from July 2007)

    11. #30
      AdamBrunt's Avatar
      AdamBrunt is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Godalming (THGG)
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Netgear V1 DG834GT
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Oct 2006
      Posts
      261
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Just got the delivery

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      No - Currently only the Sagem 2504N with the firmware specifically for Sky's FTTC service can access Sky's servers via the BTO Modem.
      Ah ok. So if I do manage to get Sky Fibre they will provide a new router as well ?

     

     
    Page 3 of 6 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION