Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 17

    New install ... Not working, help?

    This is a discussion on New install ... Not working, help? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi all , new fibre install yesterday , the bt engineer came out and fitted the open reach box and ...

    1. #1
      Carloslfc's Avatar
      Carloslfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      New install ... Not working, help?

      Hi all , new fibre install yesterday , the bt engineer came out and fitted the open reach box and I attached the sagem F@ST2504n router, but could not get a Internet light to come on the router. I have a solid green light dsl light on the open reach box ? I wonder if any of you have come across this, if I go to router status it says modem status not connected, but if I then go to advanced and change the router mode from auto to WANoE only and reboot I then get a orange Internet light on the sagem router and the status says modem connected, but the u/s and d/s speeds read as n/a and the broadband port says MER, any clues anybody, the bt guy said as far as they were concerned the solid dsl light on the open reach meant not a problem there end. Thanks


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      Quote Originally Posted by Carloslfc View Post
      Hi all , new fibre install yesterday , the bt engineer came out and fitted the open reach box and I attached the sagem F@ST2504n router, but could not get a Internet light to come on the router. I have a solid green light dsl light on the open reach box ? I wonder if any of you have come across this, if I go to router status it says modem status not connected, but if I then go to advanced and change the router mode from auto to WANoE only and reboot I then get a orange Internet light on the sagem router and the status says modem connected, but the u/s and d/s speeds read as n/a and the broadband port says MER, any clues anybody, the bt guy said as far as they were concerned the solid dsl light on the open reach meant not a problem there end. Thanks
      Are you connecting in Port 1 on the Sky router (nearest the power cable)


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    4. #3
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      Are you connecting the ethernet cable from the modem to the router using one of the 'outgoing' ports on the router? if not, connect it in this way and try again

    5. #4
      jayhab's Avatar
      jayhab is offline Site Content Team
      Exchange: Connah's Quay
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: not any more!
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Posts
      480
      Thanks
      27
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      ..beaten to it again!

    6. #5
      Carloslfc's Avatar
      Carloslfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      Yes I am , the white cable is connected closest the power lead and reset button. They are sending bt back tomorrow , I just wondered if anybody else had this problem seems when the router mode is auto it doesn't even pick up the open reach box?

    7. #6
      indefatigable's Avatar
      indefatigable is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: BB tech Support + Max
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 2TB
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Posts
      568
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 12 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      navigate to 192.168.0.1
      click on advanced
      enter admin as the username and sky as the password
      click on WAN setup
      Set router mode to WANoE only
      Apply

      does it connect now?

    8. #7
      Carloslfc's Avatar
      Carloslfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      That's what I said in my first post I had done, that then gives me an orange Internet light rather than no light at all if set to auto, thanks

    9. #8
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      Also please check that the Ethernet cable is plugged into LAN 1 on the openreach modem NOT LAN 2
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    10. #9
      Carloslfc's Avatar
      Carloslfc is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Apr 2012
      Posts
      7
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      Yep LAN port 1 , I will update tomorrow after bt engineer been if no other solutions Found in the meantime thanks for replies

    11. #10
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: Zen Unlimited Fibre 2
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: New install ... Not working, help?

      Quote Originally Posted by Carloslfc View Post
      Yep LAN port 1 , I will update tomorrow after bt engineer been if no other solutions Found in the meantime thanks for replies
      Ok, have you tried resetting the router? I.e hold the reset button down for 10 sec
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


     

     
    Page 1 of 2 12 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION