Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678
    Results 71 to 80 of 80
    Like Tree26Likes

    Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

    This is a discussion on Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; this is why ill never touch virgin I heard one customer saying he was on the 50 meg and it ...

    1. #71
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      this is why ill never touch virgin I heard one customer saying he was on the 50 meg and it got chopped to 25 meg during 5pm to 10pm stuff that like


    2. Advertisement
    3. #72
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Yes that's right - but it's now a 75% reduction instead of 50%

      It's not too bad - Still getting 75-80mbps with reduction on. But I tend to do it all overnight where I can then hammer it for a few hours. I'd love to see the network graphs for night!

    4. #73
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      heh no chance mate I think virgin servers would blow up hahaha

    5. #74
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Hi Guys,

      Just wanted to let you know that now, finally, VM have turned on the STM in my area.

      The connection has improved 1000%

      I hit 10GB between 4-9PM and before I was getting 1,2,5mbps but now I actually get 50mbps (6mb/sec) and 52mbps on speedtest.net

      Other customers report the same. It seems to have sorted the stability out. this is what we now get after having a 50% speed cut

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/1906117611.png

      Just as well really as in a unexpected turn of events I will be losing my sky LLU in a few weeks and VM will be my only option!

    6. #75
      paulkerdot's Avatar
      paulkerdot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Newton Mearns
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Apple Time Capsule
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Posts
      247
      Thanks
      5
      Thanked 15 Times in 12 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      Hi Guys,

      Just wanted to let you know that now, finally, VM have turned on the STM in my area.

      The connection has improved 1000%

      I hit 10GB between 4-9PM and before I was getting 1,2,5mbps but now I actually get 50mbps (6mb/sec) and 52mbps on speedtest.net

      Other customers report the same. It seems to have sorted the stability out. this is what we now get after having a 50% speed cut

      http://www.speedtest.net/result/1906117611.png

      Just as well really as in a unexpected turn of events I will be losing my sky LLU in a few weeks and VM will be my only option!
      Why are you losing your sky connection? Also, fingers crossed your virgin connection stays cool.


      ​BT Infinity 2 51369/14357
      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/10000
      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro 49394/18767 Was before I got DLM'd down to 45000 but now downgraded

      Sky Fibre Unlimited 39999/1999
      Sky Broadband Unlimited 10487/1049

    7. #76
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by paulkerdot View Post
      Why are you losing your sky connection? Also, fingers crossed your virgin connection stays cool.
      In a word, Bankruptcy.

      Told sky who said they were going to terminate it when i sent in the proof - which if I don't do they wont cut me off will need to wait what I am advised. Ah fair enough. Bills are all up to date so it's their call. I'm allowed it but it's up the company. I didn't have to tell them but well, it's their call.



      Will get the landline off VM instead! (VM is not in my name it's in the wifes and we have no links)

    8. #77
      andy_mk3's Avatar
      andy_mk3 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EMSTMFD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Vigor130 & pfSense
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2011
      Location
      Stamford, Lincs
      Posts
      71
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Can't get Virgin here, quite glad too really, everyone I know seems to get problems with it.

    9. #78
      gorebrush's Avatar
      gorebrush is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: UK
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: VM pfSense 2.3.2-RELEASE-p1 on ESX 6
      Sky TV: Sky Q Silver
      Join Date
      Nov 2008
      Location
      UK
      Posts
      1,136
      Thanks
      22
      Thanked 27 Times in 27 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Friends of mine are on the top Virgin package and are not getting throttled/managed at all.... Why aren't more on this (cost, I guess?)

    10. #79
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by gorebrush View Post
      Friends of mine are on the top Virgin package and are not getting throttled/managed at all.... Why aren't more on this (cost, I guess?)
      Well I pay 34.75 for the 100/10 XXXL service - is there one higher? We were paying 45 but it dropped. 4 million people have this package (according to stats) and al are being managed. so maybe your friends fell through the net? or they pay for a business grade connection?

      The STM is okay when it works - like just now. I was 4GB away from the 20GB limit and had 611MB left to do on a download. And bam now on the 50mbps " bad boy pipe" which is okay but their system is so stupid it clearly can't even do maths!

      Oh well, be off it at 7PM - not that it that it really makes any difference - Netflix still packs away 2-3GB an hour on US HD (which is better than UK HD as it's 20mbps solid UK is what 4.5?)

      And then from 9pm whoosh I've got about 300GB to get down

    11. #80
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      Well I pay 34.75 for the 100/10 XXXL service - is there one higher? We were paying 45 but it dropped. 4 million people have this package (according to stats) and al are being managed. so maybe your friends fell through the net? or they pay for a business grade connection?

      The STM is okay when it works - like just now. I was 4GB away from the 20GB limit and had 611MB left to do on a download. And bam now on the 50mbps " bad boy pipe" which is okay but their system is so stupid it clearly can't even do maths!

      Oh well, be off it at 7PM - not that it that it really makes any difference - Netflix still packs away 2-3GB an hour on US HD (which is better than UK HD as it's 20mbps solid UK is what 4.5?)

      And then from 9pm whoosh I've got about 300GB to get down
      I see why you are on the bad boy pipe lol

      When do you loose your sky connection?

     

     
    Page 8 of 8 FirstFirst ... 678

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION