Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 80
    Like Tree26Likes

    Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

    This is a discussion on Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by williammorris I went from 108.2mbps to 4.1kbps! Yes you saw that right.. That's just a little bit ...

    1. #21
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post

      I went from 108.2mbps to 4.1kbps!

      Yes you saw that right..
      That's just a little bit of a cap...holy cow
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298



    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by FelixTCat View Post
      Are you suggesting that this is solely due to their fair use policy? Really?
      To do honest mate I have no idea. .I got limited after 17GB in the the evening peak time and now I am getting between 35-42mbps. but my speeds going up to 80-90-100 then back to 80 it's at 94 right now..

      I really don't know..

    4. #23
      FelixTCat's Avatar
      FelixTCat is online now Sky User Member
      Exchange: Tilehurst
      Broadband ISP: BT Infinity 2
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Aug 2008
      Location
      Reading
      Posts
      893
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 18 Times in 17 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      To do honest mate I have no idea. .I got limited after 17GB in the the evening peak time and now I am getting between 35-42mbps. but my speeds going up to 80-90-100 then back to 80 it's at 94 right now..

      I really don't know..
      It sounds as though there is a great deal of congestion in your area. The other possible issue is that the web sites cannot handle those speeds.
      Wireless

    5. #24
      deadman1984's Avatar
      deadman1984 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Ponteland Newcastle Upon Tyne
      Broadband ISP: John Lewis broadband
      Router: Nighthawk r7000
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD + multi
      Join Date
      Sep 2009
      Location
      newcastle upon tyne uk
      Posts
      3,235
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 28 Times in 25 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      good job I ant with virgin cause they would throttle me every day lol.
      williammorris likes this.

    6. #25
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      All I can say is if Virgin think that they have the fastest service and the best policy for its users then it will see no threat to sky launching SBUF, it will be intersting to see what effect sky's new service will have both on Virgin & BT.

      To be honest, considering how long virgin have been providing fibre they should be way ahead of the game but it seems they are too busy tryng to cellotape the network together due to lack of investment.

      I can see why ISP's have to throttle and manage users becuase you will always find some that constantly abuse the network but virgin is just making everyone suffer now becuase they failed to manage a group of users who use their service for... well what ever...

    7. #26
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by FelixTCat View Post
      It sounds as though there is a great deal of congestion in your area. The other possible issue is that the web sites cannot handle those speeds.
      According to VM this area is quiet - Used to get it 24/7 until Yesterday :/

    8. #27
      SatDish's Avatar
      SatDish is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Gravesend, NDGRA
      Broadband ISP: Virgin XXL 200
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Yes
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      Kent, UK
      Posts
      5,206
      Thanks
      42
      Thanked 41 Times in 28 Posts
      Blog Entries
      1

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by williammorris View Post
      It's everyone not just 30 and above :/

      http://www.virginmedia.com/images/table_20Mb_800px.jpg
      dont forget the other packages...
      http://www.virginmedia.com/images/table_30mb_800px2.jpg
      "To help would be a great adventure"

    9. #28
      williammorris's Avatar
      williammorris Guest
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP:
      Router:
      Sky TV:

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by SatDish View Post

      Hi Sat,

      Well I hit the STM after I was literally slammed into a wall and USENET still carried on varying from 60-70mbps.

      It then dropped to between 40-45mbps. I've been able to watch all my TV and a film in HD without a problem so I am happy, maybe I have been too hard on them time will tell.

      Still got Sky as a backup (and I often use it in the day too) wouldn't be without that.

      How are you finding the new TM? (assuming you are still on 50MB)

    10. #29
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      I just downloaded 12 movies all around 1.3 gig from sky go desktop and he first two episodes from 'touch' again to the sky go desktop. So 15gig of data ish...

      I didnt time it but it only took about 30 mins give or take. I now have 29 days to watch them all

    11. #30
      scorp43's Avatar
      scorp43 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMVIC
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: D-Link DSL-2640S
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Jan 2011
      Posts
      13
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Virgin throttles broadband for high-speed customers

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      **At the moment before they even release their product**

      Well done


      Sky's FREE 500MB FTTP broadband product will be 4x faster than Virgin..... Virgin wont have a chance to compete with the speed or service....

      ...........All when it's released in 5 years time..........

      The point of that comment I hear you ask Sir? NONE!!!! Just like your comment has no point. You are comparing a product that doesn't actually exist for another 10 days to a product thats recently been 'upgraded'.

      **Damn where is the :CLAP: Smiley gone?? Oh well.... this one will do --------------->


      -Rant over^^-
      Fanboy bitchfit?

      I posted correct information so I do believe my comment 'has a point'. I don't believe Sky will change their product on launch as their margins are not that great for their current fibre offering when taking BTO's pricing into consideration. Anyway, why would Sky improve the product and sell it for the same price when it's going to cost them even more to provide?

      As for the other comment about VM's reliability, just because you have a problem don't assume everyone else does! I've been with many different ISPs and VM is the only one that can provide me with a consistent service as well as the advertised speeds. I don't care about their speed upgrades (I'm on 30MB soon to be 60) and I don't care for the STM as it never affects me but even if it did I would still get my current speeds (30Mb) which is almost 8x than what Sky provided. With no BT fibre coming my way VM is the only provider I can rely on for my internet needs.

      I would like to say that unlike some of you guys on here I'm not a fanboy of any provider (I have Sky TV, a BT line and VM broadband) and have no problem slagging off a service if it deserves it.

     

     
    Page 3 of 8 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION