Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 32
    Like Tree1Likes

    Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

    This is a discussion on Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :( within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi Guys, Had Sky Fibre installed on Tuesday, went simple enough, master socket in front room, PC connected via ethernet. ...

    1. #1
      Scotty1985's Avatar
      Scotty1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend Town
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Westcliff
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      Hi Guys,

      Had Sky Fibre installed on Tuesday, went simple enough, master socket in front room, PC connected via ethernet.

      Line was sync'd at 11Mb before on Sky Broadband Unlimited.
      Line now sync'd at:

      DownStream Connection Speed 23472 kbps
      UpStream Connection Speed 1999 kbps

      Everyone else on here seems to have sync'd straight away at 37-39999, engineer said should go up soon and when Sky rung to check install went well I mentioned it and she said can take 10 days, but should only take a few.

      Been 3 days now and the line has not reconnected once and the sync has not changed, this suggests to me they haven't touched it, unsure too as everyone else on here seemed to sync high from the off!

      Should I contact Sky or is this normal?

      Thanks

      Scott


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,251
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      what did sky say you could get when they called you? what did the BTO engineer say your line could handle after he did the install?
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > Ubiquiti UniFi | 58301/12298


    4. #3
      bubblegun's Avatar
      bubblegun is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: near Glasgow
      Broadband ISP: Sky ADSL
      Router: Billion 7400
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2007
      Location
      Scotland
      Posts
      1,491
      Thanks
      24
      Thanked 123 Times in 118 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      As andrewjr stated the Openreach engineer is supposed to check the line speed at the cabinet before he comes into your home.

    5. #4
      Scotty1985's Avatar
      Scotty1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend Town
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Westcliff
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      Sky letter told me 40-40.9Mb

      I asked BT Engineer to check max I could get, he said no point ad it would just show as 80/20, didn't think that was right but....

    6. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      Have you considered hacking the BTO Modem?

      One of the main things that you can do when hacking the modem is see all the connection stats.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...ine-stats.html

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    7. #6
      Scotty1985's Avatar
      Scotty1985 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Southend Town
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Apr 2007
      Location
      Westcliff
      Posts
      15
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      No, I haven't to be honest, would rather get it working without doing so...

      I shall leave it until tomorrow and give Sky a call, just wanted to see if this was normal for other new users, doesn't appear so!

      My guess is BT guy has not done cab right, seemed useless!!

      Will let you know how it goes!

      Scott

    8. #7
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      Quote Originally Posted by Scotty1985 View Post
      Sky letter told me 40-40.9Mb

      I asked BT Engineer to check max I could get, he said no point ad it would just show as 80/20, didn't think that was right but....
      Rubbish, when they plug in their VDSL2 test terminal to your new face plate, it gives a pretty unique figure on what the Maximum Attainable Rate for your line should be.
      Very slap dash IMO.

      You need to get back on to Sky Fibre and stamp your feet a little.

      The 10 day DLM period does not apply to VDSL, as BT run their own flavour of DLM from day 1, indefinitely.

      The only reason I can see for such a dramatic loss in sync speeds, from what you were initially estimated, is a duff line from the cab to your property.

      If you're brave enough to unlock your modem and get your line stats, I could have a crack at analyzing it for any obvious problems.

      EDIT; Bah Scubbie, ninja'd!


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    9. #8
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,202
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      Quote Originally Posted by fazedup View Post
      If you're brave enough to unlock your modem and get your line stats, I could have a crack at analyzing it for any obvious problems.

      EDIT; Bah Scubbie, ninja'd!
      That's alright, obviously thinking about it for the same reason. Analysing it would be new to myself, so please do have a go.

      There are a couple of good pieces of information that can be gained from accessing the BTO Modem

      1. It's max sync speed (up & down)
      2. from the graph you can then identify if there is a problem on the line

      Since the max attainable rates have varied at up to over 100mbps with some members, I would expect the figure quoted by the BTO Engineer to show on the Modem.

      Whilst Sky can see the stats, I'm not sure what they actually see and how soon they can get them.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    10. #9
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      452
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      Not just me then Scott.on phone to Sky for ages last night,my router is showing as recieveing 40mbs but in speed test im getting 21

    11. #10
      Shonk's Avatar
      Shonk is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Asus RT-AC88U
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      1,482
      Thanks
      7
      Thanked 121 Times in 116 Posts

      Re: Sky Fibre Installed - Low Sync! :(

      Quote Originally Posted by Paul2003 View Post
      Not just me then Scott.on phone to Sky for ages last night,my router is showing as recieveing 40mbs but in speed test im getting 21
      wired or wireless?
      wireless g the max is around 20 or so mbit

     

     
    Page 1 of 4 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION