Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 31

    WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

    This is a discussion on WNDR4500 and Openreach modem within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by Scubbie What qualifies as a 'better level of support ' What ever they tell us lol...

    1. #11
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      What qualifies as a 'better level of support '
      What ever they tell us lol


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      Update:

      Called Sky. The support agent, bless him, was not really at this level of expertise and proceeded to talk me through changing the wireless key. After explaining to him what MER was and how it works (I'm no expert but Wikipedia is!) he admitted he doesn't know anything about this and spoke to his supervisor. The reply was in a nutshell we don't support third party routers and are not prepared to change either the MER details or your IP address to match the gateway.

      I then called netgear as suggested by Scubbie. The chap at Netgear explained that the modem has its own Mac address and is looking for the sky MAC address to authenticate. He suggested asking Sky to access the modem to 'add' the WNDR4500's mac address to the list of allowed MAC addresses on the modem.

      I'm not sure if this is entirely accurate? Is it Sky's server that recognises the MAC or the BTO modem?

    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      It will be Sky's servers that recognise any MAC addresses.

      You can spoof the Sky router's MAC address. This may help.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    5. #14
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      I completely agree with Scubbie regarding the level of support.

      I called the fibre team yesterday due to wireless isolation always being enabled on my router, regardless of whether the box is ticked or not. The guy I spoke to didn't really have any idea what I was on about.

      Although he did suggest using my own router in the DMZ.

    6. #15
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      It will be Sky's servers that recognise any MAC addresses.

      You can spoof the Sky router's MAC address. This may help.
      Just tried, no joyu. I realised I had entered the Subnet mask incorrectly so I can now copy the IP, Subnet mask and gateway from the sky router and the WNDR accepts it. I entered the sky LAN mac address in but I realise that the LAN mac address of the sky router may be different from the WAN mac address? If so how do I find the Sky WAN mac address?

    7. #16
      Mr Mot's Avatar
      Mr Mot is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: CMCAN
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Nov 2011
      Posts
      85
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 5 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      I've tried the same myself but I can't find the WAN MAC..

      I very much doubt the LAN MAC is passed to Sky, that one port on the router switches between WAN and LAN depending on how you're connecting. Maybe it uses the ADSL MAC?

    8. #17
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      Done it!!!!!!

      I have compiled a guide here http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/sky-b...tml#post363903

      Surely worthy of a sticky? Also I couldn't get the thumbnail images any bigger?

    9. #18
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non-Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,253
      Thanks
      848
      Thanked 2,243 Times in 2,106 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      Very well done!!!!!!!

      The images are fine IMHO as they are.

      PlusNet Fibre since Jan 2021
      Previously Sky Fibre & Sky BB since 2010.

    10. #19
      joew's Avatar
      joew is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2008
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Very well done!!!!!!!

      The images are fine IMHO as they are.
      Seems I may be premature. My IP address has changed after 30 minutes of using the WNDR. However if I change the WNDR settings to dynamic it doesn't connect. Hmmmmm.......

      Could this be the problem or has my IP address been changed for me following this post.....

      I would appreciate some input from other fibre users on whether their IP address has changed at all. Anyone? Do we know whether fiber is dynamic or static?

    11. #20
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: WNDR4500 and Openreach modem

      Could this be the problem or has my IP address been changed for me following this post.....

      I would appreciate some input from other fibre users on whether their IP address has changed at all. Anyone? Do we know whether fiber is dynamic or static?
      Sky have no idea who you are, let alone what your IP address is, and there is no way that they could get your IP from this site.

      I think it should be dynamic like the normal BB is.
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

     

     
    Page 2 of 4 FirstFirst 1234 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION