Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 24

    Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

    This is a discussion on Sky fibre optic on non LLU? within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; There is a lot of mis-information coming from Sky at present over the SBUF . A lot of the information ...

    1. #11
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      There is a lot of mis-information coming from Sky at present over the SBUF.

      A lot of the information that has been picked up conflicts with official statements made by Sky. For example I have had people denying that Sky were going to launch the product, after the announcement at the end of January. Personally I think that this is a sign of incompetence, not trying to mislead people.

      The other day someone posted on here that they had been advised that there is no official launch date, yet this information is available on the Sky website. Sure Sky can change it if they wish, but it would make them look ill-prepared if they postponed the launch.

      As for the product range, I do recall the post about the adviser claiming that it was because Sky had been burned over the Connect package, but ultimately they are not in the position of making the final decisions. Sky may be working behind the scenes to launch a product that is not as heavily restricted as Connect is currently.

      I have also heard that the Connect package may be adjusted, especially in light of the launch of Anytime+. I haven't any details that can be posted at this time, but it sounds like they have read the Unofficial Sky connect thread and taken on-board the issues, or at least something like that.

      Essentially there are some huge changes coming soon to Sky Broadband.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      I think you may find that as well as being on Sky LLU you must be on an exchange which has been upgraded to the latest Sky equipment. ie, Full SVBN. I don't think the old DSLAMs are capable of taking a fibre input.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #13
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      I thought that Sky engineers had gone around the country to do this for all affected exchanges?

    5. #14
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      I don't think they are all fully upgraded yet. It is an ongoing exercise.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    6. #15
      ksurtees's Avatar
      ksurtees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      Thanks for your replies

      Guess I'm needing to wait for sky LLU, o2 to pull their finger out and roll out their fibre service or suffer dreaded BT traffic management

      Still a couple of months I would guess though until FTTC is turned on here (cabinets only went in just over a month ago) so time for things to change

      Thanks again

    7. #16
      Fryingpan77's Avatar
      Fryingpan77 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Shipley
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Location
      Bradford
      Posts
      668
      Thanks
      95
      Thanked 33 Times in 32 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      I think you may find that as well as being on Sky LLU you must be on an exchange which has been upgraded to the latest Sky equipment. ie, Full SVBN. I don't think the old DSLAMs are capable of taking a fibre input.
      Thank you for filling in the blanks that the sky rep left. Why he just didn't say that I don't no. Looks like I won't be getting SUFB at launch after all. I thought We we're ready to go. Anybody no if SAM KNOWS or any other site has information about which exchange's are DSLMs or ISAMs. Could be a few people out there like myself counting down to the 12th of April, then being told no SUFB in your area.

    8. #17
      uno's Avatar
      uno
      uno is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Max
      Router:
      Sky TV:
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      91
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 10 Times in 5 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      ISAMs are in nearly all exchanges now aprt from handful of more rural ones although not everybody will be on an ISAM especially if only on lower package and broadband only.

      All customers who have SkyTalk will be on ISAMs and will be fibre ready for launch, There has been quite a lot of work going on to upgrade software on ISAMs and cabling work as well but that is now complete

    9. The Following User Says Thank You to uno For This Useful Post:

      Moxey (28-03-12)

    10. #18
      ksurtees's Avatar
      ksurtees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      Sorry to go back to this, but just found an interesting line in an article from January:

      Sky is extending its unbundled ( LLU ) network footprint to bring their traditional ADSL2+ based broadband services to 88% of the UK by June 2013 (currently 82%). As a result some 1.4 million extra homes will soon be covered by Sky’s network. Note that this is entirely separate from their forthcoming 'Fibre' package (above), which is based off BT's platform and not Sky's LLU.



      (link to full article: UPD Sky Expand UK Broadband Coverage to 88% and Reveals Superfast Packages − ISPreview UK News )

      Obviously I'm not taking that as gospel, but it's certainly something I'll be ringing up and asking about come the 16th as that seems to suggest sky's backhaul won't necessarily play a part

      Kris

    11. #19
      NewsreadeR's Avatar
      NewsreadeR is offline Site Founder
      Exchange: Marshalls Cross
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Aug 2006
      Location
      St Helens
      Posts
      22,227
      Thanks
      108
      Thanked 390 Times in 314 Posts
      Blog Entries
      48

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      as that seems to suggest sky's backhaul won't necessarily play a part
      Won't play a part in what?
      ~ Never, ever, argue with an idiot. They'll drag you down to their level and beat you with experience ~

    12. #20
      ksurtees's Avatar
      ksurtees is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Other ISP
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Sky fibre optic on non LLU?

      In whether or not you are able to recieve FTTC from sky, the article makes it sound more as though the requirement would purely be based upon whether FTTC in general (eg infinity) is available or not

     

     
    Page 2 of 3 FirstFirst 123 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION