Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast
    Results 11 to 20 of 48
    Like Tree6Likes

    New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

    This is a discussion on New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by andrewjr sp10 i believe which instructions did you follow to update?...

    1. #11
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      Quote Originally Posted by andrewjr View Post
      sp10 i believe
      which instructions did you follow to update?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #12
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      Quote Originally Posted by Angel_Rex View Post
      which instructions did you follow to update?
      I followed these - http://huaweihg612hacking.files.word...tions_v1-3.pdf


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    4. The Following User Says Thank You to fazedup For This Useful Post:

      Angel_Rex (09-03-12)

    5. #13
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      OK I stoped being a girl & have hacked it.

      Many thanks as that was MUCH easier to follow

      Although since rebooting the router my sync has dropped from 39997 to 39239

      I have way too low snr Its fluctuating between 5.7-6.1. I'm guessing this is part of the cause of my problems. I had this with my old connection too :'(


      Connection Status
      Help
      Mode VDSL2
      Traffic type PTM
      DSL synchronization status Up
      DSL up time 434

      Line Status
      Help
      Downstream Upstream
      Attainable rate (kbit/s) 45772 7305
      SNR margin (dB) 6 18.2
      Line attenuation (dB) 0 0
      Output power (dBmV) 11 -1.6

      Statistics
      Help

      Path 0
      Path 1
      Downstream Upstream Downstream Upstream
      Line rate (kbit/s) 39293 1999 0 0
      CRC errors 0 0 0 0
      FEC errors 0 0 0 0
      HEC errors 0 0 0 0

    6. #14
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      BTW** If you UNTICK QOS in the advanced options on the modem it increases the upload speed by quite a lot.


      I was always getting 1.70 mb i now get 1.85mb upload





      I will do a re-sync of my line in the morning as it should have a better SNR then

    7. The Following User Says Thank You to Angel_Rex For This Useful Post:

      fazedup (09-03-12)

    8. #15
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      Great stuff. Nice little find!

      Angel_Rex likes this.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    9. #16
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      Looks as though with your max attainable rate of 45meg, you're probabaly right on the limit for your line

      Still, a vast improvement, I'm sure.

      EDIT: Disabling QOS, sacrifices a little download speed, pings are starting to climb a little too.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    10. #17
      Angel_Rex's Avatar
      Angel_Rex is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Uckfield
      Broadband ISP: Zen FTTP
      Router: FRITZ!Box 3490
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Jul 2008
      Posts
      604
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 13 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      Mmmm might be worth keeping a check on that then

    11. #18
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      Been playing around with the GNUPlot scripts, managed to extract some more line details.

      Some of it I have a grasp of, some of it means nothing to me!
      Still, may be of interest to the really savvy people out there.



      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    12. #19
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      Well done for getting the information. Should someone at a later stage have an issue we have some guidance to compare with.

      Looking at the graphs, I would suggest that things appear to be fine. I am comparing them with the sample on this site:

      Huawei HG612 Hacking

      The upstream is low, but then we know that it is capped.

      There are other examples on the site which show some with issues. What I don't know is how good yours is.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    13. #20
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: New Fibre install - Hacked HG612 - Line Stats

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      The upstream is low, but then we know that it is capped.

      There are other examples on the site which show some with issues. What I don't know is how good yours is.
      Trying to make a little sense out of it all. As you say, the upstream is capped, so the Bitloading of carrier tones 2000-2750 (Green) doesn't need to be very high.
      The huge chasm of unused tones 850-1250, is a whole Upstream band that isntt being utilised at. I guess if and when 10/20meg upstream profiles become available, this band will be used.

      Apparently, SNR looks good. Starting off around 50db and gently sloping off as the frequencies increase, but more importantly there doesn't appear to many errant values out of the ordinary.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

     

     
    Page 2 of 5 FirstFirst 1234 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION