Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 87
    Like Tree12Likes

    router help WNDR3700

    This is a discussion on router help WNDR3700 within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Hi everyone i am new to the site i have been looking for days and can not find any help ...

    1. #1
      sparky678911's Avatar
      sparky678911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear R6300
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      router help WNDR3700

      Hi everyone i am new to the site i have been looking for days and can not find any help so hoping i can here so i have just had sky fibre installed and working great but the openreach modem fine but they gave me a sagemcom F@st2504n which before i had a netgear wndr3700 which is great is there any way that i can get rid of the sagemcom one and use my netgear one i am new to all this so a guide or help would be great the reason i want to change is because my netgear is gigabit and has more ports and better brand. before i had fibre i just had normal sky broadband and when i got my netgear WNDR3700 i just plugged this in and of i went i tryed with new fibre one and nothing i did auto setup and said on static or somthing and when i click next it ask me to setup static ip so i am stuck not sure what to do any help would be greatfull thank you very much.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      Have a look at these threads, which you should find helpful.

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...-together.html

      http://www.skyuser.co.uk/forum/askin...nk-dir613.html

      You could try connecting your router direct to the modem, for this you will need the username and password from your Sky router. If you are not too technically minded, one of the above is your best solution.

      The odd Capital, comma and full stop make posts easier to read

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    4. #3
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      Scubbie is the expert on cable routers I am sure she can assist you, you are not alone on wanting an alternative router but until now we have not had anyone who can try and get things working.

    5. #4
      sparky678911's Avatar
      sparky678911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear R6300
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      i tryed the user name and password but did not do anything

    6. #5
      Isitme's Avatar
      Isitme is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: Bannockburn
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Dec 2006
      Location
      Central Scotland
      Posts
      34,256
      Thanks
      65
      Thanked 1,655 Times in 1,616 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      As Ipster says, no one has been successful yet in connecting a non Sky router to the BTO modem. You would be better using one of the two methods linked in my previous post, you do not need a username etc to do this.

      Maybe when someone works out how to connect to the BTO modem, you can change over if your router is compatible. There is a thought at the moment that Sky are using MER on their fibre connections, which is proving difficult to crack.

      TomD


      Please note the views and recommendations in my posts are my own and in no way reflect the views of SkyUser.


      Useful Utilites

      https://www.nirsoft.net/utils/wifi_information_view.html/ TCPOptimiser /Test Socket

      Note - When downloading always select the Custom install or you will end up with stuff you don't want.





    7. #6
      sparky678911's Avatar
      sparky678911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear R6300
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      thanks for replys i have been looking in the router at setting and that and i have noticed it say in the Router Status and say Network Type: MER (what ever that means lol)

    8. #7
      sparky678911's Avatar
      sparky678911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear R6300
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      Just found this not sure if would help any one but somthing better than nothing

      MER stands for "MAC Encapsulated Routing". Basically the MAC address of the router is used to allow it to connect to Sky's network rather than using a username and password as with PPPoA. It also means that routers not supplied by Sky will not connect although most 3rd party routers that support MER do allow the MAC address to be entered manually.

    9. #8
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      I have the exact same model of cable router, I will conducting tests on Friday when my fibre goes live.

      I'm assuming, that as you've been using a Cable router prior to your SBUF installation, you were previously with Virgin Media?


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    10. #9
      andrewjr's Avatar
      andrewjr is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDSIT
      Broadband ISP: NOWTV Super Fibre
      Router: Ubiquiti Unifi
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Sep 2006
      Posts
      1,250
      Thanks
      28
      Thanked 144 Times in 110 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      Quote Originally Posted by Isitme View Post
      As Ipster says, no one has been successful yet in connecting a non Sky router to the BTO modem. You would be better using one of the two methods linked in my previous post, you do not need a username etc to do this.

      Maybe when someone works out how to connect to the BTO modem, you can change over if your router is compatible. There is a thought at the moment that Sky are using MER on their fibre connections, which is proving difficult to crack.
      i cant get my aiport extreme to connect directly to the BTO modem, maybe due to MER needing the mac address of the sky router, have you tried spoofing your mac address on you non sky router with the sagems mac address?
      AirPort Extreme + Sky Fibre Guide | Mac OSX Automator for xDSL stats for HG612 & Vigor 130

      Hauwei Cab > VMG1312-B10A > RT-86U Merlin | 58301/12298


    11. #10
      sparky678911's Avatar
      sparky678911 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Netgear R6300
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      65
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: router help WNDR3700

      Re: router help WNDR3700
      I have the exact same model of cable router, I will conducting tests on Friday when my fibre goes live.

      I'm assuming, that as you've been using a Cable router prior to your SBUF installation, you were previously with Virgin Media?


      No i was on sky broadband


      Re: router help WNDR3700

      Originally Posted by Isitme
      As Ipster says, no one has been successful yet in connecting a non Sky router to the BTO modem. You would be better using one of the two methods linked in my previous post, you do not need a username etc to do this.

      Maybe when someone works out how to connect to the BTO modem, you can change over if your router is compatible. There is a thought at the moment that Sky are using MER on their fibre connections, which is proving difficult to crack.



      i cant get my aiport extreme to connect directly to the BTO modem, maybe due to MER needing the mac address of the sky router, have you tried spoofing your mac address on you non sky router with the sagems mac address?


      i would not have a clue how to do that i am new to networking

     

     
    Page 1 of 9 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION