Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast
    Results 1 to 10 of 67
    Like Tree7Likes

    Fibre cabinets

    This is a discussion on Fibre cabinets within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Is there going to be one large fibre cabinet for every small green bt cabinet? Or does one large green ...

    1. #1
      Zino_Jones's Avatar
      Zino_Jones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      London
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Fibre cabinets

      Is there going to be one large fibre cabinet for every small green bt cabinet?

      Or does one large green fibre cabinet supply many standard bt green cabinets?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #2
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      It is possible for multiple cabinets to be connected to one fibre cabinet. I am not sure how BTO work out what size FTTC gets used though

    4. #3
      Zino_Jones's Avatar
      Zino_Jones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      London
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      I want to find my fibre cabinet, call me a geek but I want to lol

    5. #4
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Oh I am almost a Openreach stalker (in a nice way) keeping an eye on fibre cabinets in my area lol

      The best thing you can do is look for cabinet 7, you have it confused with the cable cabinets in your area. BT cabinets tend to have the number in white on the cabinet doors virgin cabinets tend to have small silver plates with the number. You can also check if its a BT cabinet as it should have some BT or PO lids in front or around the cabinet. Cable cabinets tends to say CATV. The cabinet can also be a distance from your home so you may need to look far and wide.

    6. The Following User Says Thank You to Ipster For This Useful Post:

      Zino_Jones (04-03-12)

    7. #5
      Scubbie's Avatar
      Scubbie is offline Sky User Moderator
      Exchange: 02392
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub ER110
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Location
      Near Portsmouth
      Posts
      28,201
      Thanks
      844
      Thanked 2,223 Times in 2,092 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      There are different size cabinets.

      Some may just be sufficient to feed the customers attached to one green street cabinet, others appear to be suitable for supplying more than one cabinet.

      Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro: Connected at 80,000 kbps / 20,000 kbps
      Previous ADSL2+ Speed 19999 kbps 1153 kbps, Line Attenuation 17.5 db 6.9 db, Noise Margin 7.5 dB 8.7 dB
      Speedtest: 17.15MB/s 0.97Mb/s Ping 31 ms

    8. The Following User Says Thank You to Scubbie For This Useful Post:

      Zino_Jones (04-03-12)

    9. #6
      Zino_Jones's Avatar
      Zino_Jones is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD 1TB Box
      Join Date
      Feb 2012
      Location
      London
      Posts
      64
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      thanks all, found it, completely somewhere else, but at least i found it im such a geek
      Ipster likes this.

    10. #7
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      452
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
      End of my road original green cabinet on the right been there since estate was built 12 years ago. Can see where the path has been dug up to get to BT lids
      Ipster likes this.

    11. #8
      F022Y's Avatar
      F022Y is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: EASUD
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR101
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Location
      Sudbury
      Posts
      158
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      This seemed like the best thread to post this, not seen it anywhere else.

      Looks like one of the guys over at Think has put together a GUI for fibre information such as which cab, line length ect, quite interesting.

      http://bbcheck.co.cc/


      Link to the Think thread
      Fibre Availability Checker :: Fibre Broadband :: think broadband

      This does not work on LLU but is helpful for connect users.
      Last edited by F022Y; 06-03-12 at 09:03 AM.

    12. #9
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      452
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
      Ipster likes this.

    13. #10
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by F022Y View Post
      This seemed like the best thread to post this, not seen it anywhere else.

      Looks like one of the guys over at Think has put together a GUI for fibre information such as which cab, line length ect, quite interesting.

      http://bbcheck.co.cc/

      It doesnt seem to work very well with LLU lines tho!


      Link to the Think thread
      Fibre Availability Checker :: Fibre Broadband :: think broadband
      This doesnt help those with a Sky LLU line, this is only for those who have a BT line.

     

     
    Page 1 of 7 123 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION