Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast
    Results 51 to 60 of 67
    Like Tree7Likes

    Fibre cabinets

    This is a discussion on Fibre cabinets within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Sky LLU is available on your exchange so once FTTC is available so should Sky Fibre. Obviously you'll need your ...

    1. #51
      Bartlet's Avatar
      Bartlet is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Feb 2008
      Posts
      57
      Thanks
      6
      Thanked 4 Times in 3 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Sky LLU is available on your exchange so once FTTC is available so should Sky Fibre. Obviously you'll need your cab to be upgraded as well as the exchange.


    2. Advertisement
    3. #52
      joe pineapples's Avatar
      joe pineapples is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: SLBAL. (Balby)
      Broadband ISP: Sky Unlimited
      Router: Sky Hub SR102
      Sky TV: Freesat
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      519
      Thanks
      82
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      There is now another cabinet next to the one in the photo, of about the same size (see workman on left for scale) and appearence. The one pictured is cable ('CATV' on the access floor cover), but the new one says BT. Will the new one likely be a fibre cabinet?. Just curiosity really, since I already know which one I'm connected to (about 3 times the distance of that one unfortunately)


    4. #53
      Justinlang's Avatar
      Justinlang is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Neston
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Billion 7800N
      Sky TV: SkyHD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2011
      Posts
      29
      Thanks
      1
      Thanked 4 Times in 4 Posts
      Exchange activation date is listed in the coming soon spreadsheet on the bto micro site as 1/3/2012. I've seen a team laying fibre optics cable in the area but my cabinet has yet to be upgraded. However, the BT infinity website is now saying my cabinet ( rather than my exchange) is due to be upgraded by 31/3/2012 with expected download/upload speeds of 40/10 Mbps.
      Yay!
      Now watching out for cabinet updates...
      Hoping I get a call from sky before they officially start taking orders...


      ---
      I am here: http://tapatalk.com/map.php?m1slmd

    5. #54
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      452
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
      Spotted a fibre cabinet by my Mums yesterday this is worse than train spotting lol

    6. #55
      McBridge's Avatar
      McBridge is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Bedlington
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      17
      Thanks
      3
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by JimL View Post
      Hope you guys can help. My BT phone contract is due for renewal,i am on a fairly long line and only recieve 1.8mb. My exchange is Ashington Northumberland cabinet no 31,will i recieve Sky Fibre soon as my exchange is due to be upgraded in June 2012.If i am fortunate to recieve Fibre i will move phone contract to Sky. Many thanks Jim.
      You should be able to, I am on the bedlington exchange and already have sky fibre.

    7. #56
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      just out of interest.... how long does it take for BTO to install a Fibre cabinet?

    8. #57
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by x2srj View Post
      just out of interest.... how long does it take for BTO to install a Fibre cabinet?
      Depends how much Tea you're prepared to ply the BTO guys with.
      Scubbie likes this.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    9. #58
      x2srj's Avatar
      x2srj is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Belstead
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Sky+ HD
      Join Date
      Nov 2006
      Posts
      63
      Thanks
      2
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by fazedup View Post
      Depends how much Tea you're prepared to ply the BTO guys with.
      I've hassled Ipster a few times as he lives close to me... I can see cabinets going up near me but not the one where I'm connected to at the moment. I'm just being impatient and want fibre internet... even though I don't really need it Just be nice to have a better upload speed and latency.

    10. #59
      simon194's Avatar
      simon194 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: NDHAS
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q Hub with Billion 8800NL in bridge mode
      Sky TV: Sky Q 2TB
      Join Date
      Mar 2010
      Posts
      388
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 35 Times in 30 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by x2srj View Post
      just out of interest.... how long does it take for BTO to install a Fibre cabinet?
      Round my way, the cabinet was installed then about a month later the local electicity company connected up the power and fitted a meter. After that there was about a week where BTO were pulling ducting underground and blowing fibre to the cabinet and the following week they were kitting it out over a couple of days.

      It took around 6 weeks in all after the cabinet was physically in position. The ground work before the cabinet was in place took about 5 weeks because not much happened after the sub-contractors had dug the holes for the new ductbox and plinth for the cabinet.

    11. #60
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by x2srj View Post
      I've hassled Ipster a few times as he lives close to me... I can see cabinets going up near me but not the one where I'm connected to at the moment. I'm just being impatient and want fibre internet... even though I don't really need it Just be nice to have a better upload speed and latency.
      Panic not, BTO have drafted engineers from Southend and London to work in Ipswich and the local area to try and get back on time. If you drive around you will see they are putting in 2/3 in cabinets a day now and working on a weekend.
      Last edited by Ipster; 19-03-12 at 03:15 PM. Reason: spelling doh!

     

     
    Page 6 of 7 FirstFirst ... 4567 LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION