Your forum username:
Do you already have an account?
Forgot your password?
  • Log in or Sign up


    Welcome to Sky User - The Unofficial Support Forum for everything Sky! - Proudly helping over 65k members.


    Advertisement

    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast
    Results 21 to 30 of 67
    Like Tree7Likes

    Fibre cabinets

    This is a discussion on Fibre cabinets within the Sky Broadband (Fibre) Help forums, part of the Sky Broadband help and support category; Originally Posted by VinnyH Im not sure about my exchange too. Its says on BT fibre should be available 31/3/2012 ...

    1. #21
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by VinnyH View Post
      Im not sure about my exchange too. Its says on BT fibre should be available 31/3/2012 on BT website. Not sure if my cbinet has been upgraded, and wondering if someone can help? Im on the Kensal Green exchange.
      Whats your post code?


    2. Advertisement
    3. #22
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by craney13 View Post
      Thanks guys for your advice, i haven't actually checked to see if my cab was due to be upgraded with the rollout as i didnt know you actually could. My postcode is CM75GJ if you could perhaps have a look for me that would be great
      Your post code is not listed on the PCP document from Dec 2011. This could be down to a few things.. you have a direct line to the exchange or your cabinet is not on the roll out list. All you can do is keep an eye out and keep checking the BT line/postcode checker.

    4. #23
      terryf's Avatar
      terryf is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: retford
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sky Q hub
      Sky TV: Sky Q silver
      Join Date
      Jan 2007
      Posts
      82
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 2 Times in 2 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by Scubbie View Post
      Sadly this is a common complaint. BTO appear to be initially only installing enough to cover around 30-40% of the population in any given exchange. After that they gradually expand the installations at a much slower rate.
      Could they be doing Rural areas first, after all I think this was the idea.
      Terry

    5. #24
      Paul2003's Avatar
      Paul2003 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Leamington Spa
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited Fibre
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      May 2010
      Posts
      452
      Thanks
      70
      Thanked 19 Times in 15 Posts
      This is my cabinet that appeared next to smaller one a few weeks ago. Had call today and being connected 27-28 March.

    6. #25
      VinnyH's Avatar
      VinnyH is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Kensal Green
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2304n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Mar 2012
      Posts
      4
      Thanks
      0
      Thanked 0 Times in 0 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by Ipster View Post
      Whats your post code?
      Its NW10 3PR. Thanks for the help!

    7. #26
      Ipster's Avatar
      Ipster is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: Sky Broadband Unlimited
      Router: Non Sky Router
      Sky TV: Other
      Join Date
      Jan 2012
      Posts
      751
      Thanks
      15
      Thanked 34 Times in 31 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by VinnyH View Post
      Its NW10 3PR. Thanks for the help!
      Again your post code is not showing on the PCP document from Dec 2011. So that either means that you live close to the exchange and have a direct line and not via a cabinet or your cabinet has not been given a roll out date.

      Exchanges listed for March 2012 were included in this document, so the best thing to do is wait until the exchange goes live for FTTC and check with an ISP to see of they can give you any updates on your line. Or keep checking the BT Line/Postcode checker and see if they add your cabinet at a later date.

    8. #27
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      do all the cabinets have to be done on the exchange before i can get fibre cause its meant to be end of march when fibre is going live but there are alot of cabinets to be done

    9. #28
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by thomasjc1 View Post
      do all the cabinets have to be done on the exchange before i can get fibre cause its meant to be end of march when fibre is going live but there are alot of cabinets to be done
      To receive FTTC, your exchange need to be active and the street cab you're currently connected to, needs to have a live Fibre cabinet paried with it.

      Generally an exchange will go live, but not all street cabs will have been upgraded to fibre. It's all part of BT's Fibre roll out, cabs will continue to be upgraded over the next few years, long after some exchanges have gone live.
      Last edited by fazedup; 10-03-12 at 07:59 PM. Reason: typos/clarity
      Scubbie likes this.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    10. #29
      thomasjc1's Avatar
      thomasjc1 is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange:
      Broadband ISP: plusnet fibre unlimited
      Router: asus rt-n66u
      Sky TV: Sky Basic
      Join Date
      Oct 2010
      Posts
      221
      Thanks
      11
      Thanked 1 Time in 1 Post

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      my old cab is about 50m away the new one is 40m away and about another 5 around have been done but there are also a few that aint been done yet

    11. #30
      fazedup's Avatar
      fazedup is offline Sky User Member
      Exchange: Chippenham
      Broadband ISP: Sky Fibre Unlimited Pro
      Router: Sagem F@ST 2504n
      Sky TV: Sky+HD box
      Join Date
      Jul 2010
      Location
      Wiltshire
      Posts
      332
      Thanks
      20
      Thanked 24 Times in 23 Posts

      Re: Fibre cabinets

      Quote Originally Posted by thomasjc1 View Post
      my old cab is about 50m away the new one is 40m away and about another 5 around have been done but there are also a few that aint been done yet
      My case in point. FTTC isn't going to be available to 100% of customers when an exchange goes live. BT will upgrade x% of cabs per exchange, then go back and fill in the blanks in the future.


      "...We're through the looking-glass here people, none of us have ever done anything like this before... except Mike, who as we all know, once stole a Tank and tried to invade Paris!"

    12. The Following User Says Thank You to fazedup For This Useful Post:

      thomasjc1 (10-03-12)

     

     
    Page 3 of 7 FirstFirst 12345 ... LastLast

    Tags for this Thread

    Posting Permissions

    • You may not post new threads
    • You may not post replies
    • You may not post attachments
    • You may not edit your posts
    •  
    SkyUser - Copyright © 2006-2020. SatDish and NewsreadeR | SkyUser is in no way affiliated with Sky Broadband / BSkyB
    RIPA NOTICE: NO CONSENT IS GIVEN FOR INTERCEPTION OF PAGE TRANSMISSION